The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Oblige him (you werewolf)

The economist Bryan Caplan just discovered Werewolf and opens the floodgates by asking:

Any social scientific insights you’d care to share?

Being a simple country gamer, I have no great insight. But I know the die-hard werewolferati have opinions. Oh yes, do they have opinions. That they like to share. Particularly about lynching, and how it should be someone else, but also on socio-economics.

So, off you go.

Written by taogaming

August 9, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve read a few places that villagers win way more than they should and it boggles my mind. Is it that hard to act like a villager? I ran some simulations that agree that wolves should win more. I assumed perfect wolf and villager strategy and sub-optimal (but seemingly typical seer strategy). I haven’t run it for what I believe to be perfect seer strategy. The three games I’ve played, evil won.

    Perfect Strategy
    Wolves:
    Act like villagers in all ways, even in lynching a wolf.
    There may be some weird end-game exceptions, especially if sorcerer counts as villager for parity (why not make him neutral for parity?!?!)

    Villagers:
    Roll a die for the lynch victim. Everyone votes for him.

    Seer:
    I’m pretty sure the best strategy is to immediately announce when a wolf is seen and give the list of scanned safe villagers.
    Even better that I didn’t model is for everyone to claim to be a seer and give a fake scan every turn. If the real seer is killed his scan list is known to be good.
    Claims of “don’t lynch me, I’m the seer” are ignored.

    David

    August 10, 2011 at 8:22 pm


Comments are closed.

