The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Bastion

I enjoyed Bastion, my latest XBox download ($15). Gameplay reminds me of a souped-up Gauntlet … but so advanced that the comparison isn’t accurate. You acquire weapons & feats in clever ways.

But the real hook is that the narrator describes the world and what you are doing, dropping hints as to what happened and where you should go. The guy doing it (Logan Cunningham) sounds like a cross between Samuel L Jackson and Moses. Real ‘voice of God’ acting, and it’s great. The music haunts you. The story ending comes close to art. Now that I’ve finished the story, will I keep playing to level up everything? Eh, maybe. But for the money I spent, I’m completely happy with the purchase.

So, if you have an XBox, this is definitely a demo.

Written by taogaming

August 6, 2011 at 8:04 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s coming to the PC in a couple of weeks. Do you think it will translate well enough to be worth it?

    Lou W

    August 6, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  2. Hurm. I suppose it would work, but it would be like running a character through a Gauntlet style videogame with keyboard and mouse.

    taogaming

    August 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm


Comments are closed.

