The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Session Report and The Current Quest

I finally played Dixit, and found it utterly charming. Sure, I can see where you need to play with new cards (or new groups), it’s more an activity than game, and the art has a few repeated themes, but those are just nits. I’ve handed in my curmudgeon card, although I shall reclaim it soon enough.

In the replay category, China and El Grande both re-appeared, after a hiatus.  It’s funny, I acquired a RGG copy of El Grande just to get all the expansions, but I shun them for the base game. I don’t even think I’ve played them beyond the Intrigue…and I played China with Web of Power rules (which was easy, since I taught it). For all I know they’ve changed. For the worse.

Can I have my card back now?

Next — The San Antonio (Bridge) Regional, to claim my new rating! (Hopefully).

Written by taogaming

June 27, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The most interesting thing about Dixit is how it uses its illustrations as a fundamental aspect of the design. I can’t think of another game that did that, though I’ve not done anything like an exhaustive search.

    San Il Defanso

    June 28, 2011 at 8:24 am

  2. Compatibility?

    Dennis Ugolini

    July 1, 2011 at 11:14 am

    • Been a long time since I played that. I thought it just had pictures, though. (Photos of odd scenes). Could be wrong, it’s been ~15 years.

      taogaming

      July 2, 2011 at 8:31 am


Comments are closed.

