The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Recent Repeats

Played another two games of Rallyman (actually more like 5-6 individual heats to teach people, but there you go. Not counting the really long course I ran multiple times to improve my time. I went from 10:30 to 13:12 to 15:lots. So … not much improvement. Apparently my first race was lucky).

The second game of Airlines Europe helped to alleviate some fears. The board was still a bit open (4 players), but the player who ignored AA won, and there wasn’t as much “I’ll drop 1 of every stock”. (Part of the problem may be that the 4 player game removes the Yellow Airline, which is right in the middle of the board, but doesn’t remove any of the spaces. A two sided board?)

I’ve played Cartagena twice, or maybe 3 times, which now officially makes it my favorite Colovini game. Actually, I may up my rating, I would have enjoyed this more except for the A.P. (Look, maybe the game deserves some AP, it’s quite clever and Colovini likes thinky abstracts. I just don’t want to play that way). If this had taken 15 minutes, it would have been great.

Written by taogaming

May 24, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with , ,

