The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Hemi-Bluffing

As is typical for the last few weeks, I mainly played bluffing or semi-cooperative games. Troyes hit the table, but I didn’t play it. Perhaps next week.  Not much to report on the gaming front. The blast from the past this week was Wrasslin, a fast 3-player Battle (Whatever the diminutive of Royale is). Battle Minimale?

So, instead of gaming insight, I offer randomness from around the web.

  • Conor Friedersdorf’s “Nearly 100 Fantastic Pieces of Journalism” from last year has something for everyone. I’d already read several of the pieces (Michael Lewis on the Greek meltdown, Malcolm Gladwell’s piece on Operation Mincemeat, Mark Bowden’s “The Case of the Vanishing Blond”  and Joshua Berman’s “The art of the steal”, among others) but there’s a ton of great reading there.
  • I missed Mikko’s note on the “H-index” last fall, but I wholeheartedly agree that having artificial stats tracking your collection is a great way to inspire you to drag oldies out of your closet. (Over the last two years, I’ve improved my Friendless rating from negative to 12!). Incidentally, my H-index is  at least 30. (That means I’ve played at least 30 games 30 times), although that’s counting a few games that I don’t have logged on BGG, but that I played religiously for a while (Go, Chess, Magic, Titan). But I don’t count expansions separately, which would also boost my number (Race + Dominion, mainly)
  • Barnes’ “Best Games of the 80s” I may do something like this, if someone can tell me an easy way to sort games on BGG by year. Incidentally, having owned and sold 7 of those 10 games, I’m left wondering if the 80s had any games I still really love. (Here’s his “Best of the 70s”)
  • Someone should redo Gunslinger and streamline it. Great idea that didn’t age well at all.
  • The Opinionated Gamers “Best of 2010 lists” are all over the place, which is expected. But of particular interest to me is the fact that they are posting Mitch Thomashow. Apart from the fact that he’s one of the true gentlemen of gaming, he mainly plays 2 player abstracts (which I mainly … avoid) and likes Dominant Species. I think it didn’t work with lots, but now I want to try it with 2 or 3.
  • Speaking of stats — an interesting new friendless stat is the “Games you haven’t played ranked by most # of users having played.” Most of them I have played, just before I started tracking items in BGG, but it’s interesting.
  • Also, I’m approaching a decade since I’ve played Paths of Glory…I guess I should trade it.
Written by taogaming

May 13, 2011 at 4:33 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have played 31 games each at least 32 times (or, if you prefer, 32 games each at least 31 times.) So my stats are almost identical to yours.

    Eric Brosius

    May 13, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  2. Can you quickly sum up what do you think the great core idea ofGunslinger is and why it didnt age well?
    I never played the game (it was close to impossible to get it here in Germany. Especially as a student with little money) and I never played it. I know the BGG-page and so I know the gist, but would like to know why its kept in such a high regard here

    peer

    May 14, 2011 at 2:08 am

  3. Simply — Each player has a hand of cards (Fire, Turn Left, Step Forward, Pick up Weapon, Reload, etc). Each card has a time cost. You lay out the next few seconds, then reveal resolve. Programmed Movement, like RoboRally.

    Good Things — Lots of maps, scenarios. Easy to make different gunfighters (so “The Kid’s” “Fire” card only cost him 1 second, instead of 2). A large number of possible actions.

    Problems — 1) Lots of rules beyond that. 2) If you had someone in your Line of Sight during planning, it was easy to shoot them. But if you had to turn left then shoot, they may have moved out of the way already. This doesn’t bother me in a game about programming, but for Gunfighting ….

    taogaming

    May 14, 2011 at 8:33 am

    • Thanks. So to make a “modern” gunfighter game, it should keep the programmed movement and the flexibility, but streamline the rules.
      And add a “shoot left” card.
      That doesnt sounf to difficult 😉

      peer

      May 14, 2011 at 11:42 am

  4. Played gunslinger once. It is probably the only game i really want to see reprinted/updated… Well, besides Dune.

    Rob

    May 14, 2011 at 11:08 pm

  5. Hrm. You can do an “Advanced search” and put in a “Date published” range from say 1980 to 1989, but it doesn’t seem you can actually change the visible columns on that view to sort by year.

    I guess you’d have to just do ten searches, “From 1980 to 1980” etc. meh.

    Tim

    May 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm


Comments are closed.

