The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Bridge Sectional

Had a good day at bridge … came in 3rd in the morning pairs (out of 62 pairs), and if I hadn’t made a few stupid mistakes we would have won. But on the plus side, the last round saw the following hand

(Say, does anyone know why wordpress doesn’t like the bridge base handviewer tool?)

Dummy: S Txxx H Kxx D Kx C AJxx
Me : S AQ H AQJxx D JT9x C Kx

Our style is to open 1N with a five card major so, I risked 1N and ended up in 3N after partner asked for majors and I showed (4) hearts. Not the best contract, but not horrible (especially at matchpoints). I got the two of clubs lead, win the king, then led a small diamond to the king (winning) and then diamond back. RHO popped up with the queen and led a spade. I finessed the queen, which lost, and LHO returned a spade. LHO couldn’t know I had a fifth heart.

And now, since I know that LHO had 4 clubs (presumably to the queen) and the diamond ace, I just quickly ran five hearts for a baby squeeze to make 5 and a great score. LHO had to pitch a club away on the 5th heart to keep the diamond ace, so the board (with AJx of clubs) was up.

This wasn’t a hard play, but I just saw it. It didn’t make up for all my mistakes, but it’s nice to pull off a good play every now and then.

Written by taogaming

April 29, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Posted in Bridge

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Did you guys see this article from last week’s Sunday NY Times about teaching Bridge in schools?

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/25/education/25bridge.html?_r=1

    Maybe there’s a future for the old game yet!

    Larry Levy

    May 1, 2011 at 12:48 am


Comments are closed.

