The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Squier Update

So for the last day or two I’ve noticed a disturbing trend where my Squier pro-Guitar just stops sending information to Rock Band. I figured that my MIDI cable was just coming loose when I tried to invoke star power (by tilting the guitar), but today the truth was revealed. After failing out of a song when my notes stopped being recorded, I pulled the MIDI connect out … but the connector detached from the cable! (Thankfully I could get it out of the guitar easily). Given that I’ve only had the cable for two weeks, I suspect I just got a barely functional cable. (This was the one included with the guitar).

It’s under warranty, technically, but I suspect that the hoops I’d have to jump through to replace it aren’t worth it. (Looking at the Squier website isn’t much help).

At least I beat King George first.

Written by taogaming

April 21, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Posted in Rant

Tagged with

