The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Random thoughts

A few more Rock Band thoughts:

  • Now that I’ve played for a week I see two potential bad habits. First, relying on the TV to provide feedback on where your hands are. Second, treating it is a videogame (which it is) and doing a-musical things to win. Right now I’m still powering through songs by RockBand skill more than guitar skill (although I can get to a G, C or D chord setup …slowly). I rationalize this by saying I’m practicing basic muscle memory.
  • The minimum percentage to pass (3 star) a song is at least 15% lower than on regular guitar. I’m ‘beating’ songs by hitting 60% of the notes (sometimes a bit less). I’ve finished the warmup and apprentice set (each one having one song that takes me ~30 minutes of practice) and I knocked out half of the solid songs on the first or second try. Right now, a song is hard if it has lots of (non-power) chords.
  • So, for those who asked it took me under a week to beat 1/2 of the solid medium songs. (Just for kicks I tried I Love Rock and Roll on expert … I didn’t fail, although I only got 2 stars).
  • Thanks to Dennis for pointing out Ultimate Guitar.

In non-RB news:

  • Portal 2 comes out next week. I’m in.
  • That’s a nice looking redesign, but I’m happy with my copy of Glory to Rome. I won’t say it’s garishness has grown on me,  but …
  • I read the review of 20th Century with interest, and it highlights my big worry … samey-ness. That’s why I got rid of Dungeon Lords. Still, I’ll try it. Still, could be worse. For example, when I picked up (game name redacted) I almost burst out laughing. I’m not sure anyone could have designed an image more likely to make me drop the box back on the shelf. I couldn’t bring myself to read the text.
  • Still playing Dominion with the TaoLing. He wins about 20% of the games, now. We’ve also added Air Baron to the mix. And we still like shooting up some zombies. Who doesn’t?
  • I realize now that Super Scrabble really needs to separate the tiles into two sets (A and B). They can be the same (or not), but with the greater mix it’s much easier to draw an unplayable rack (all vowels, consonants, or something like three Vs).

So, open thread it is.

Written by taogaming

April 16, 2011 at 9:16 pm

Posted in Open Thread

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Which game almost made you laugh? I could use a laugh right now.

    Jacob

    April 17, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    • It was not kind laughter, which is why I redacted the game name.

      taogaming

      April 17, 2011 at 9:38 pm

  2. And I’ve now finished the Medium “Solid” setlist and a few songs of moderate. King George by Dover appears to be the next real challenge.

    taogaming

    April 17, 2011 at 9:40 pm


Comments are closed.

