The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Walking in a Webby Wonderland

  • After a few years hiatus, I’m on the P500 again for … quite a few games, actually. (Urban Sprawl, Space Empires, Andean Abyss). Should I bite the bullet and order Virgin Queen? I love Here I Stand, although I get to play it maybe once every year or two. Right now I think I’m going to pass… I’ll let someone else take the plunge.
  • Rock Band #3 Pro Guitar. It’s surprisingly hard to set my hand in a power chord and simply slide it from the 3rd fret to the 5th. Also, electric guitar strings are just garrottes that decided to specialize on fingers instead of necks. Even typing hurts, a bit.
  • However, it is surprisingly easy to spend of a lot of money on  accessories once you get an electric guitar. I think I’m done for now.
  • Currently Reading — Bridge, Probability and Information by Robert McKinnon. So far my thought is that it’s a fascinating book dealing with complicated issues fairly well, but that I should apply myself to discipline and technique instead of this to improve my bridge. So, in many ways, it’s more fascinating than useful (although I’m only halfway through …. and I do want to work out some of his numbers on paper for my own edification). Heavy combinatorics, the vacant space principle, Bayes Theorem, Restricted Choice as applied to opening leads, and what else.  I’ll probably write a review for Bridge Winners. Non-bridge players may want to see if they can check this out of a library. I wonder if I have enough math to tackle Borel’s classic work (The mathematics of Bridge). Assuming I can find a copy. In english. Cheap. Nevermind.
  • Spinal Tap Interviewed by Aresnio Hall.
  • I’m tempted to go see Arthur. I like Russell Brand. The reviews are terrible, but he strikes me as funny. Anyone see it yet? How about Your Highness. (I liked Paul, although it wasn’t up to earlier Pegg/Frost efforts. I’m getting their TV series via Netflix soon). Oh, here’s their “Star Wars Remake.”
  • One of my favorite quotes of recent memory — “Steampunk is nothing more than what happens when Goths discover brown.” (Charlie Stross, slightly out of context). A new “hot” game made me think of it.
  • I do still want to try Mansions of Madness. Kinda.

How’s your weekend going?

Written by taogaming

April 9, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Posted in Open Thread

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like Your Highness pretty well. Had very low expectations. Snuck in after seeing Source Code (which was excellent). After the first few minutes I was expecting “Epic Movie” garbage but it turned out very good. It’s worst fault was that it tried too hard to not take itself too seriously.

    David

    April 10, 2011 at 10:39 pm

  2. I saw Suckerpunch at the insistence of a friend so the next day my wife and I went to see Your Highness as a palette cleaner. Netflix both, unless of course you must hear the term “the Fuckening!” uttered out loud. It was funny and perhaps worth the price of the matinée.

    Charles Feduke

    April 11, 2011 at 9:22 am

  3. I value your view on games highly but Im afraid admitting a liking for Russell Brand removes any chance of me following your comedy views. I would happily pay not to see any of his films or read his books

    Keith Shapley

    April 13, 2011 at 1:41 pm


Comments are closed.

