The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Strange things

  • Despite being psyched for the Rock Band Pro-Guitar, enough to even purchase it from Best Buy, I’m not willing to order it from Best Buy’s website for store pickup. I have no idea why.
  • I picked up Linq; man the American version sucks. Not nearly as nice as the print-and-play set we used.
  • I need a new TV show to watch.
  • Warning about bad Crokinole boards from MayDay games.
  • Kakerlaken poker is pretty much a pure bluffing game, but I enjoyed it anyway. And despite hating Werewolf, I actually like the Resistance.  It’s faster, of course, and has a lot more information flowing (and no player elimination).
  • Z-Man will have Troyes. And some other things that look interesting. No surprise there. I’ll probably try that and Yggdrissil.
  • Chris Farrell discusses mechanics and the intersection of theme.
  • I played Mines of Zavandor (mentioned in a comment thread), and it ungripped me. Not bad, but no hook.

Edit — As Larry notes, I was confusing MayDay with Mayfair.

Written by taogaming

March 17, 2011 at 7:53 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is Mayday (the one in the recent Crokinole board incident) related to Mayfair? I always thought Mayday mostly did card sleeves stuff.

    Hiew Chok SIen

    March 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm

  2. IMPORTANT: (assuming you don’t want to get sued, Brian)

    That article is about a company called MayDay Games, not Mayfair. MayDay evidently sells Crokinole boards, card sleeves, and possibly some other things. It’s a completely different company than Mayfair.

    Time to do your Emily Latella imitation, dude.

    Larry Levy

    March 17, 2011 at 8:35 pm

  3. Dude, you should totally get the guitar. Watch this awesome video review.


    [part 1 of 3…about 30 minutes total, part 2 is on using it to learn to play guitar]

    And here’s the same guy doing Rush:

    He split screens the guitar and the game. I’ve learned stuff about playing the guitar just from watching his videos I never understood before.

    Also, I would note that according to Google Maps there are 10 Best Buys in San Antonio. 10! And there are at least two within 10 minutes of you. Get out into the world and get one. Good lord, what else are you going to do while Jacqui is at the Gathering?

    Lou W

    March 18, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  4. None of the stores have it. Like I said, I’d have gotten it if it was local, but I don’t really want to order it.

    taogaming

    March 19, 2011 at 10:24 am

    • Ah, by ‘ordering it’ I assumed you meant that you didn’t want to wait for it to be delivered directly to your house. I didn’t realize ‘deliver to store’ was also proscribed. Well, I’m sure eventually it will be in stock. It turns out, BTW, that the guitarist from the videos above is a San Antonio local. Just thought it was an interesting coincidence.

      Lou W

      March 19, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  5. Actually, I’m probably going to order it this weekend, since the younger TaoLing also wants to learn guitar. I figure it’s not the best way, but its not horrible, and we may combine with lessons.

    taogaming

    March 19, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  6. Charles (7yo) also continues to express interest in the Guitar, so I’ve considered it for the same reason. But since I’m fighting on a daily basis not to quit my job, I’m trying to keep elective purchases to a minimum.

    That said, this is the other thing that I thought looked great as a teaching guitar. Saw it on BoingBoing, so you may have seen it as well. It’s $150, but looks really neat.

    Lou W

    March 19, 2011 at 4:45 pm

  7. Toys R Us has starter (6 string) guitars for cheaper than that, I think.

    taogaming

    March 19, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    • Yeah, I bought a decent starter 6-string already, but having trying to learn off of it, I can totally see the value of a 3 string guitar. He simply can’t deal with the number of strings, or the width of the fretboard (even on the small guitar). Yeah, it doesn’t need to be $150, and I’ll probably not buy it at that price, but I can clearly see how much easier it would be to teach guitar with only 3 strings to start.

      Lou W

      March 20, 2011 at 3:56 pm

  8. I can see that.

    taogaming

    March 20, 2011 at 6:12 pm


Comments are closed.

