The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Slow moving towards a purchase …

I mean, I can get the Hansa T. expansion, the BSG expansion, and then when Dominion expansion is out, that’s about 1/2 way to free shipping. But what else to get?

  • Mousquetaires de Roy looks promising.
  • Mansions of Madness? Fixed Arkham Horror or game that will be forgotten shortly? (On the plus side, now that my son is a full fledged gamer, I could set this aside for another year or two and then be fine. How does it play with just 2?)
  • Thinking about it, Yomi is off my list.
  • Rallyman is tempting, although that’s partially to ensure Bolide is recognized as a wretched waste.Don’t buy angry. Thoughts?
  • Recent euros don’t cut it. No to Merkator, London and the like (although I’ll play them all again).

I suppose I should wait and see … I’m in no hurry. We need a discussion of recent purchases in the comments, stat!

Recent Bridge Purchase — Clyde E. Love’s Bridge Squeezes Complete. (A bridge squeeze is defined as a complex play I can find whenever I’m not actually playing Bridge. Except that once).

Written by taogaming

March 10, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Posted in Open Thread

Tagged with

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you tried Mines of Zavendor yet? I liked that quite a bit and it might be up your alley.

    I feel like there has been a bunch of solid stuff recently, but agree nothing really spectacular. I like Black Friday a lot, I like Fürstenfeld, I was pleasantly surprised by C&C: Napoleonics, and of course I’m a Thunderstone guy and the new set is a better base set than the original, I think. I liked Merkator better than you, but can’t argue. Played Poseidon once, it might or might not be good. 51st state surprised me by being pretty decent I thought, but it’s not immediately obvious it’ll have any staying power.

    Mansion of Madness is on hold pending judgement for me. I’ve played it once. It’s better than Arkham Horror. That’s not saying much. The narrative tension in our game wasn’t very good, and I’m not sure if that was just a weak intro scenario or what. The system seems to have potential, but the devil is in the details. Given FFG’s track record I have a hunch. Regardless, though, whoever is writing the rules over there needs to be fired with extreme prejudice.

    Have you tried High Frontier yet? It’s the only recent game that’s really compelled me. It’s the usual quirky SMG stuff, but it’s by far the best of their games I’ve played. Play the quick-start variant.

    Yeah, and Bolide is garbage. Clever idea; still garbage though.

    Chris

    March 11, 2011 at 3:01 am

    • High Frontier is one of those games I’d buy and play once. A decade ago, I would have bought it happily, but now I’m hesitant.

      taogaming

      March 11, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      • I would come out of hiding to drool over High Frontier with you. I feel almost obligated to buy it for work.

        Dennis Ugolini

        March 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      • I almost bought High Frontier. I would definitely play it if it appeared!

        Fred Bush

        March 12, 2011 at 12:21 pm

  2. I’d suggest trying Troyes and/or De Vulgari Eloquentia, if you have not, which were the best (for me) of the recent Essen crop. Not saying you should buy them, but they are really worth some try (I’d go with 2 plays at least).

    I agree on Merkator (eeeeek), and London, though enjoyable, is a little too templated in terms of plays (and long, also).

    unkle

    March 11, 2011 at 4:32 am

  3. “Rallyman is tempting, although that’s partially to ensure Bolide is recognized as a wretched waste.Don’t buy angry. Thoughts?”

    Ouch.

    Oh well, haters gonna hate.

    Seriously though, for those of us who didn’t grow up playing Racetrack in school (we used to play a game where the object was to break the other person’s pencil in half with your own pencil. *manly grunt*) the mechanics are fresh and exciting. Before May of 2010, my only experience with “gaming” was Settler’s of Catan, Carcassonne, and Cheapass games… but I had known about Formula De for over a decade. When I lived in Ohio, I would go to the game store and stare at it on the shelf week after week, but I never had anyone to play it with, so I left it where it sat.

    When I finally played Formula De this year I was underwhelmed — Nay, I was actively disappointed. It just wasn’t interesting and/or fun in any determinable manner. Somewhere a mix of Bolide and Powerboats has made up for the massive letdown of a decade-long anticipation buildup.

    Still, don’t let this dissuade you from picking up Rallyman. It’s one that Sean and I both wanted to try at BGG.CON but didn’t get the chance. If you bring it, we will play.

    Tim

    March 11, 2011 at 11:52 am

  4. Recent game purchases, I don’t have much to report. Mostly RPG stuff… Gamma World, Paranoia… oh, and Hard Vacuum.

    Upcoming purchases? That’s another story. Several games I’m excited about this year.

    – Godzilla: Kaiju World Wars. Smashing stuff as an *officially* licensed Godzilla? Yes please!
    – Braggart: I’m a sucker for storytelling games of hilarity. I wish I could get someone to play Baron Munchausen.
    – Quarriors: I will buy this one from morbid curiosity. A deck building game with dice instead of cards?!
    – Uchronia: Glory to Rome without all the broken buildings… and with NICE ART?!?! Done.
    – The Big Idea: Hey, I said I got my start in Cheapass games. So when they release this in a big, nice party game box later this year with streamlined rules, I will have it.
    – There are a couple of games coming out in the Discworld universe (one of them by your hero, Wallace).
    – New RFTG Expansion… and Dice for the Galaxy (or whatever it winds up being called)… I love dice!
    – Skull and Roses. Oh yeah, I love bluffing games, even though it will sit in my bag and I’ll be too afraid to pull it out and get shouted down with “meh” all around.

    Tim

    March 11, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    • I’ll give you the art, but for me a lot of the fun of Glory to Rome is the broken buildings.

      Alex

      March 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm

  5. The most recent time I found a squeeze at the table – the finesse was on.

    The time before that, the squeeze was for down two…

    Joe Huber

    March 11, 2011 at 1:40 pm

  6. I’m probably a bad sample since I’m still in the “buy 10 games a month and play 2 crowd”. But as for games I have actually gotten to the table and enjoyed. Here they are.

    Survive Reprint: Great with the family and awesome components.

    Navegador: The first Rondel Game that hasn’t aggravated me. In fact quite the opposite. It’s beautiful, plays fast, and has a neat stock market going on.

    Automobile: Never got to play the Tree Frog version so the Mayfair is new to me and I am enjoying it very much. I’m starting to really like Wallace’s more rules-light games. Tinners’ Trail has been getting frequent plays in my group as well.

    Innovation: Worked for me but I can see why it’s such a love it or hate it game for people.

    Famiglia: I like it but I can’t decide yet whether it is a very interesting and challenging game or if it is utterly broken and I just haven’t figured out why yet.

    Battle Cry Reprint: My 7 year old son has really taken to this so who am I to complain?

    Yomi: Love this and I’m not a big dueling/fighting game sorta guy. It just has something special going on that I can’t quite put my finger on.

    I had Rallyman in my shopping cart about a month ago and held back because even though it honestly looked great I didn’t see it getting much play with my group or household.

    Your posts have me itching to try Black Friday and I was already interested in Furstenfeld. I’m surprised I haven’t just bought Black Friday but the 6.xx ratings on the geek have stayed my hand. Furstenfeld has been resisted due to price.

    Mansions of Madness is of no interest to me to own but I’d love to play it sometime.

    mattx

    March 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm

  7. Black Friday is panned on the Geek in large part because the rules are hard to understand. The only reason I see for not liking it is that it has a significant luck element (just last night I used my “Sell +1” bonus to sell four yellow at $88, causing a market adjustment, and then drew three black suitcases out of the bag. It was exhilarating, but I was lucky.) On the other hand, it should take well under an hour, and I have no problem with luck in such a short game.

    Eric Brosius

    March 11, 2011 at 8:42 pm

  8. I suppose you might consider Navigador to be JASE, but I don’t think you should. The theme is quite effectively carried out and the mechanics fit together like clockwork. It’s a superior rondel game with very little downtime.

    And of course, you’ve read my latest Opinionated Gamer article, so you know which of the Nuremberg games to save up for!

    Larry Levy

    March 11, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    • I haven’t tried Navigador. I’ve liked all the Rondel mechanic in theory, and hated them in practice (I didn’t consider any of the predecessors JASE, but at some point it will become it. For me they are not JASE, but not interesting). And of course I did.

      taogaming

      March 11, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  9. […] played Mines of Zavandor (mentioned in a comment thread), and it ungripped me. Not bad, but no […]


Comments are closed.

