The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Larry rates it 7 Wonders

Larry Levy’s review of 7 Wonders:

I really have only one nagging concern about the design. You make lots of decisions…. But it’s not clear to me that most of them matter a great deal, at least in terms of wins and losses. You can play a very sound game, but lose because you were dealt three great cards in a stack, rather than having them split up in three stacks. Or because a neighbor got a key military or science card at the right time. Or because the “perfect” guild wasn’t one of the ones added to the Age III cards. On the other hand, all of those things might go right and you’ll win easily.

I agree, and approve the sentiment that it’s not a big deal in a 30 minute game. 7 Wonders is a swimsuit issue … don’t overanalyze it.

And now I’m off to try to become the defender of the Alamo City’s honor for the I-35 Cup. Back later.

Written by taogaming

February 26, 2011 at 9:58 am

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] As mentioned earlier, the I-35 cup qualifier was today. It opened with a disaster … not at the table, but due to organization. Apparently, despite being a game with four different levels and only ~20 teams expected, nobody thought to figure out how they’d handle levels with 5 or 7 teams. So it takes them 30 minutes to figure out which movement they want to use, then one team complains they are in the wrong bracket, and then everything is re-done. (Inexplicably, in my opinion). […]

  2. The key job of a 30-minute game is to be enjoyable. And for me, it simply isn’t.

    Eric Brosius

    February 27, 2011 at 1:40 am

  3. “Larry rates it 7 Wonders”

    I see what you did there.

    huzonfirst

    February 27, 2011 at 2:25 am

  4. […] next to Rhodes (bonus military) and as Rhodes (Bonus Military, not so useful when facing Amazons), confirms what Larry and I believed. But short enough I don’t […]


Comments are closed.

