The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Royal Succession

The Tao-ling got his first (legitimate) win at Dominion today. (I have been known to miscount close games in his favor). The setup was:

  • Pearl Diver
  • University
  • Alchemist
  • Philosopher’s Stone
  • Caravan
  • Feast
  • Quarry
  • City
  • Royal Seal
  • Trading Post

(With Colonies in play). As you can see, he’s pretty much moved onto playing the full game (with random setups), as we had potions, colonies, durations and the like. This was the 3rd game we played that had the University + City + Caravan combination and by this time he recognized it’s potential. He avoided the quarry (a trap card in this setup), got an early university, trading post, royal seal and then started trimming his deck, getting a 2nd university and grabbed a few cities. He bought a colony and province early, just using his small purchases to get caravans/alchemists or cities.

Given that there were no +buy cards (until two stacks disappeared) I was in trouble. I’d gotten a 2nd potion and loaded up on alchemists, and had parity on cities and caravans (they split 5/5 each).  I managed to manipulate the timing so that I got the first use of double powered cities, which closed the gap, but not enough. I lost 46-43.(If I could have drawn one more card on the last turn, I’d have tied … at that point my deck was in hand or played, and I had two feasts in my discard pile).

So hurray for the Tao-ling; he may not be the littlest Dominion shark, but he’s one of them.

Written by taogaming

February 19, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

