The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The Recent Games

Glen MoreJASEy, although I’m inclined to give it the benefit of a doubt because of the Neuland style time-track, tile placement/activation rules, and penalty for having lots of stuff. We played 3 player, which probably added to my enjoyment (since the die plays faster than people, and this strikes me as a fixed fun game). A solid design, and I’ll play it again, but I’m not particularly entranced. So, I guess JASE.

Arctic ScavengersOn the Session Geeklist, someone said I rated it “a solid meh.” Let me dispel rumors: Arctic Scavengers waits in vain for the coveted meh. It does not, however, deserve a Ye Gods! At least, not with the rules I was taught.

Written by taogaming

January 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are there any Alea games you *wouldn’t* classify as JASE, Brian? Even the greats, like Puerto Rico and Princes, are hardly dripping in theme.

    Larry Levy

    January 26, 2011 at 9:52 am

    • I specifically mention Puerto Rico as soulful in my “Defining Soul in Euros” Geeklist, because I consider innovative mechanisms (as compared to just remixing existing things) as soulful. Ditto San Juan. I hadn’t considered Princes, and I’m having a tough time remembering how innovative it was at the time. Pretty much. To be fair, even then it’s theme was a hoary cliche.

      taogaming

      January 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm


Comments are closed.

