The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Battlestar Galactica — Exodus

Played 2 five player games, thoughts:

  • New characters are always good
  • I like the new human goals, in theory. This isn’t surprising, since I came up with the same idea for Shadows Over Camelot. Although (in practice) I don’t think you have enough control over some of the cards.
  • I’m not sure I like the Final 5 cards (which can keep you human but hose people if they look at your card).
  • In theory, the fact that there may be one less Cylon (since all of the loyalty cards are dealt except one) is balanced by the human goals and Final 5 cards. However, when you turn from human to cylon during the sleeper phase AND you are the only cylon in a 5 player game, then there’s going to be a lot of luck. There should probably be some balancing involved (like making the humans jump 9+ a jump, instead of 8+). But in some groups having one less Cylon won’t make it much easier, due to paranoia.
  • The new destiny cards (the 0 and 6 cards) are good.
  • I really like the cylon map and preparation, instead of having the ship cards. The flaw of the base game was that you could have a game with no ship cards that was too easy, versus a game of all ship cards that was impossible. This seems like a nice middle ground.
  • I didn’t play with the Ionian what’s it, which was universally despised by my play group before I got there. (“The end game just kept two people from winning, randomly.” I concur with the judgement that that sucks).

Will I get this? Presumably. Today’s games were just Base + Exodus, but I could see keeping Treachery cards and characters and Pegasus from the Pegasus expansion. I never liked Cylon Leaders, and New Caprica seemed to be less interesting than the base endgame.

Anyway — If you like the base game, this is probably worth getting.

Written by taogaming

January 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha, I thought about your SoC variant when I read the previews for this. You should demand a cut.

    I agree about the paranoia remark, as the same concept works well in SoC. One of my first criticisms of base BSG, actually, was that the loyalty deck was fully known. So I’m happy about this aspect.

    But the overall complexity seems way too high when you throw a bunch of these modular expansions in. I don’t play this too often, and the ramp-up is way out of hand.

    Jon W

    January 10, 2011 at 1:49 pm


Comments are closed.

