The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Weekend Update

  • I posted my “Escape from the Aliens” variant.
  • And (during the game) I used a line from one of my favorite shows, which inspired a geeklist.
  • I played a game of BSG. Sadly I was a cylon and it turns out that we were taking orders from … the care bears. (Only one fleet showed up in the game, and then on the turn of a jump. We had them on fuel until the legendary discovery showed up). Still looking forward to the expansion (even though it will probably be too much. But hopefully I can pick and choose, and a few new characters would be nice).
  • If I’m not the worst player in the Dominion league it would come as a surprise. How can I be so bad at a game I’ve played a few hundred times? Apparently Dominion has at least one more level than I do.
  • Placed an order for Labyrinth, 7 Wonders, and a few small games. Will report back later.
  • I like the Tron soundtrack, I’m not sure I love it.
  • I was going to buy a few used XBox games at the “Buy 2 get one free” sale, but then I just shrugged and put Rock Band on. Which was correct. I think I’ve hit my level of incompetence at keyboard (Pass most non-Phish/Yes/etc on Hard, I can do some songs on Expert). Is it just me or is “I Feel Good (I Got You)” much harder on drums than the other songs in that difficulty?
  • I played in the least laughingest game of Telestrations.
  • How I Met Your Mother came out two months ago on DVD, and Netflix still hasn’t sent me the 1st disk yet. They are usually very good, but they must have only got a few copies.
  • I’m avoiding Resident Evil, the deckbuilding game, on general principles. But am I right to do so? Answer below.
  • I bought a pea coat, partially because I’m cold, but mainly in case anyone bursts into a room needing a submarine commander. Then I’ve got an edge.
  • We’re team-building at work this week. Last week, Dilbert had the perfect take on it.
  • Raiders with commercials? Watched it. Crystal Skull without commercials? Time to blog. Really, this isn’t difficult. The first sequel may be ok, but after that the best you can hope for is a guilty pleasure. (Does not necessarily apply if the source material predates the movies, but always applies if a second+ movie is made because the first was a monstrous hit).
  • Vending Spree is back from the dead. Although judging from Matthew’s hands (in the background of several pictures) it was a close call, and he may be patient zero in WW-Z.  (Although thankfully the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup picture is off the front page).
  • My new webcomic is Scenes from a Multiverse. Random stories from random universes! Such as the job application of Cornelius Snarlington, Business Deer! Will it make it into the humor links? In some universes, it already has! (When you browse the archives, remember that some jokes are in the tooltips).

How was your weekend?

Written by taogaming

December 12, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Posted in Open Thread, TV & Media

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Should you play RE:DBG? Did you like Thunderstone? Does the idea of having the dungeon in Thunderstone be a single blind draw bother you? I think it’s worth trying, but I own it so I’m probably biased. 🙂

    Greg

    December 13, 2010 at 1:24 am

  2. Wow, there are still companies that do team-building? That’s so Single-Aught!

    Played 7 Wonders for the very first time on Saturday (since I didn’t get the chance at the last Gathering). I thought it pretty much lived up to the hype. Fast and interesting, with some player interaction. The physical design is particularly appealing. Should be the sort of game that just about everyone will like at least a little, unless they’re hell-bent on playing something heavy.

    Also got to play Navegador for a second time and right now, it and London are my stars of the Essen crop, with plenty more still to play.

    Larry Levy

    December 13, 2010 at 9:30 am

  3. I played my first game of Labyrinth a couple Sundays ago, a great game, definitely worth the money.

    7 Wonders is also good, we played several rounds of it on Saturday. Extremely nice design/color/artwork.

    Both games are excellent choices.

    Charles Feduke

    December 13, 2010 at 12:50 pm

  4. First sequel to Raiders, Temple of Doom, was pretty terrible. Yes, Lucas eventually combined the two sidekicks of Temple of Doom into the even more horrible Jar-Jar, but Doom also had all the hallmarks of stupid plotting and bad dialogue that make up the worst of the second set of Star Wars movies.

    Last Crusade was almost as good as the original, and I thought Crystal Skull was slightly better than Doom which isn’t saying much.

    frunk

    December 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm

  5. I liked Temple of Doom with only minor quibbles (exactly how much water does that, rather smallish, tower hold?).

    Last Crusade I found awful — it was like watching a theme-park show.

    Crystal Skull — in order to sufficiently suspend one’s dis-belief, it’s best if you have no idea of how anything (physics, logic, human behaviour, plausibility) behaves in the real world.

    All of them do a great job in demonstrating exactly how good the original was — perhaps the best adventure film ever made.

    Greg Aleknevicus

    December 13, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    • I watched the first three a bit before the fourth one came out, and Temple of Doom was the only one that made me cringe. Every time Short Round or “Willie” was on the screen it was a disaster.

      I suppose if they were removed entirely from the movie I’d find it tolerable.

      frunk

      December 13, 2010 at 11:20 pm


Comments are closed.

