The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Escape from the Aliens in Outer Space

… is actually pretty good.

It’s one of those plotted movement games. The humans are trying to get to escape pods, and the aliens are trying to eat them. When you move through a risky area, you may make a sound. Draw a card and it will instruct you to either say “No sound” or to reveal a location. But some of the cards let you lie about the location you reveal. If you end in a safe area, you don’t draw a card … but that does reveal you are in a safe area.

Aliens move faster (of course) and can attack after moving, revealing where they are and killing any unfortunate humans in that space. As a (small) counter measure, only humans can use the item cards that can be drawn by anyone.

All the humans died in my first game, which I’m told is fairly common, but we all pretty much deserved to die. (I should have doubled back for one turn after I had to give out a truthful location). Anyway, it’s one of those games that you should know if you like based on the description.

Downside — the cards are Red = must tell the truth and green = can lie, instead of an icon. And you have to photocopy the layout to use for each game (or laminate + dry erase). Not a must play, but I think it’s solid. Lots of downloadable scenarios and tinkers, I’m told.

Written by taogaming

November 27, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for your nice review of the game!

    Just one note: green and red cards also have a different icon in the lower right: (You can see the red icon here http://www.escapefromthealiensinouterspace.com/imgs/carte.png)
    We are very aware of accessibility issues related to color: feel free to write us if you have any other inquiries.

    Have fun!

    SR

    Santa Ragione

    November 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  2. Bankler’s review is spot on, the only difference for me was the “[…] one of those games that you should know if you like based on the description.” Funagain actually had copies of the limited edition at the BGG.CON storefront. I picked up the box and flipped it over to read the back. “Meh, sounds like Nuns on the run.” I said, and put it back on the shelf.

    Later that night, after the Funagain store had closed, I got dragged (reluctantly) into a game by Anne, who had played the game and enjoyed it a great deal. It was way more fun than I had expected. It was like going to see the first Iron-Man movie. My expectations were so low that it felt like a massive hit — my unexpected gem of the con.

    Of course, Funagain was sold out by the time I got back, so I had to settle for the black edition they had in their online store.

    And yes, for all the hyping of the game I’ve been doing in our group and on BGG, I agree that it’s not a “must play” game. It’s a solid game that’s more fun than you’d expect, based on the description, and one that I’m very happy to have in my collection, despite the relatively high cost for what comes in the box.

    Tim

    November 29, 2010 at 11:46 am


Comments are closed.

