The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Things I’m thinking about

  • Should I support the Eminent Domain kickstarter?
  • Is it really worth it to travel a full day for 2-3 days of gaming, then another full day of travel?
  • Kickback or Minorwood for minor suit slams…(I think Minorwood leads to less confusion, but I’m not sure).
  • Which games should I sell at BGG.Con
    • And which games should I abandon if they don’t sell…
  • Are RB3 download songs with pro-keys and guitar really worth an extra $1. (Probably).
  • Am I addicted to Isotropic, or just healthily involved?
  • Did I remember to set my DVR for tonight?
  • If one of the best partnerships around plays Flannery, I should definitely reconsider. (“It is interesting to me that Flannery gets a really bad rap from the bottom tier of the expert community, but at the very top levels of bridge, it seems most pairs use it in some form.”) It’s added to my “conventions I’ll play even though I suspect they aren’t necessary.
  • Say, what time is it, anyway?

And you?

Written by taogaming

November 7, 2010 at 11:56 am

Posted in Open Thread

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am supporting the Eminent Domain kickstarter and I have access to the dropbox with the prototype cards. If you’re actually interested in playing it, I can print out / cut up the cards and we can give it a shot.

    Tim

    November 7, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  2. Kickback. Minorwood is a very bad idea. We’ve lost so many natural minor suit bids already; losing a natural slammish bid is bad. A few partners insisted on Minorwood. I agreed for a while. When the cost reached 100 IMPs, I stopped agreeing.

    Flannery’s OK. Multi’s OK. Weak 2D is OK. Doesn’t matter much. When I play Flannery, I like 2D-3D to be some invite in a major. If you go through 2NT to find shape, (a) you give away declarer’s shape too often, and (b) you can’t invite on power. I suppose it’s OK to have both invites (power and shape), but I’d rather make sure I get to game with high card so that I don’t create a swing in these auctions; I’m getting an edge already by concealing declarer’s hand, so I want to be in game when the other table is there.

    jeffg

    November 8, 2010 at 11:01 am

  3. I may be biased, but I think the clear answer to your first question is this:

    It’s not a question of whether to support or not, rather a question of what level to support at… who wants to go in with me for a bundle of 3 limited edition copies?

    😉

    Seth Jaffee

    November 8, 2010 at 6:53 pm

  4. On a more serious note, thank you for mentioning it, and if you are coming to BGG.con you will have a chance to play the game first. Look for me or Michael, or anyone from this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/582731/eminent-domain-at-bgg-con

    Seth Jaffee

    November 8, 2010 at 6:55 pm

  5. “Is it really worth it to travel a full day for 2-3 days of gaming, then another full day of travel?”

    It all depends upon who you get to game with for those 2-3 days. With the right folks, I’d do it in a heartbeat. (And, in fact, I just did.)

    w.r.t. Kickstarter – for me, it’s a simple equation. How much do I want a copy? If a game isn’t worth $200 to me, I’m not pledging $200 to try to get it out. Not having played Eminent Domain, I’m left with a theme I like, but a title that I’d really rather be applied to a different theme – and that’s not nearly enough to tempt me. Perhaps if I played the game, I’d pony up, but not having done so I don’t feel any need to get involved with the financing.

    Joe Huber

    November 9, 2010 at 10:22 am


Comments are closed.

