The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

My day

  • I got in the Top 1% keyboardists for the (admittedly easy) “Tears from Heaven.” So I played it again, almost aced it, and got in the top 0%. Pride is a delicious sin. As penance, I decided to see how long I’d last on expert Roundabout. I was doing fine for the entire “Play this note for 20 seconds” section … (And I personally think it’s great that the “insanely hardest song on the disk” isn’t death metal, but Yes. Actually, I can only get through the easiest keyboard tutorials (on pro). Even the major scales have some odd riffs in them … I mean, I can play the scales. But not when you start being tricksy.
  • On top of everything else, I logged into isotropic to play real dominion against real people. I’ll be doing it again. My username is what you’d expect.
  • I started to watch the next Fringe disk, but my heart isn’t in it. The disk has been sitting here, mocking me, so I stopped rock band and put it in. After 1/2 an hour, I shut it off. Begone from the queue! At least for now.
  • Werewolves of London is a great song with one riff repeated forever. I knew this, but Rock Band really brought it home.
  • Primer (the movie) was pretty good. I think I understand it, even.
  • Tomorrow is more of the same, plus Sherlock and Walking Dead.
Written by taogaming

October 31, 2010 at 2:08 am

Posted in Open Thread

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roundabout isn’t even one of their tough songs. 🙂

    ekted

    October 31, 2010 at 2:33 am

  2. Primer (the movie) was pretty good. I think I understand it, even.

    The only people who think they understand the movie are those who haven’t fully grasped exactly how complicated the time-line really is.

    Greg Aleknevicus

    October 31, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  3. Primer shows what you can do with solid storytelling – if ever there was a low-budget indie, that’s it… and it holds it’s own against much bigger pictures, I think.

    As for Rock Band, playing keys is one thing, but playing keytar while dancing around the stage is quite another. Perhaps Rock Band 5 will incorporate Kinect into the experience, and we’ll all be graded on how “Rockstar” our stage presence is.

    Sean

    November 2, 2010 at 5:35 pm


Comments are closed.

