The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Random things I think

  • BGG should ration geeklists to one per person per month.  (Maybe with some exemption for anything really useful or thumb-attracting).
  • OK, I don’t really think that. But I am beginning to think that I should just start hiding anyone who spams geeklists.
  • I think I’ll just get Prosperity from my local FLGS. There isn’t another game out right now that I must have, most of them are “I’d like to try this” and I suspect I’ll not like them. So “free shipping at $100” would cost more than it’s worth. Although if Dominant species were also available.
  • I need to play 7 Ages again.
  • The Nobel committee picked a worthy Peace Prize recipient this year.
  • I think I figured out my data analysis & scalability issues at work, but I don’t think you care.
  • Die Antwoord is odd. (NSFW)
  • The “Kelsey on Squeezes” series of books isn’t tough reading, but I’m not getting the feeling I can identify anything beyond a basic squeeze at the table.
  • I hope my nephews like Happy Birthday, Robot! I think they will.

Update — Picked up Propserity at the FLGS. I actually made out better than mail order, thanks to a managerial fiat discount. (I think that’s my reward for buying Happy Birthday Robot from them, which even they thought was overpriced).

Written by taogaming

October 9, 2010 at 9:29 am

Posted in Misc

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The noise to signal ratio for the Geek has become excruciatingly high. I still check there daily and as an information source, the site is still without peer. But the days when I would read more than a handful of postings are long gone. (Chit Chat, of course, remains the one exception.)

    Larry Levy

    October 9, 2010 at 10:44 am

  2. 7 Wonders is on the way. That’s still not $100. Red Dragon Inn 3 is coming soon…don’t know if it’s worth having, but I have 1 and 2 and we still play it regularly.

    The signal to noise ratio is always low for user-contributed sites. I don’t care at all what idiots think, and if just anyone is allowed to participate, Sturgeon’s Law will kick in.

    jeffg

    October 9, 2010 at 12:59 pm

  3. Aww. Is this directed at me? What can I say, I’m chatty.

    Tim

    October 9, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    • Actually I was thinking about the proliferating “Your favorite Sci Fi X” lists, etc. I don’t really mind playlists (even if I don’t watch them) because they provide useful content. If Group X keeps playing some game every week, they really like it. That’s not much information, but it’s information, and more than just saying “I like this game.”

      taogaming

      October 9, 2010 at 8:18 pm


Comments are closed.

