The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The Heroes of Graxia Review YOU Demanded!

Meh. Lots of rules, chrome, counting.

Also, I’m not feeling the love with Innovation anymore. I think after 5+ plays I should be able to at least plan a bit, and not just react.

Update — OK, the actual review. While it’s theoretically possible that there is a good game in Heroes, I’m not inclined to give it the n chances it would take to discover it.

I like that you keep some cards between turns … but, this isn’t a CCG. You get to play 1-2 cards a turn. If you get 5 playable cards, then zero (spells, which are played and discarded), then you are worse off than a player who got 2 then 3. Essentially, you’ve got more cards in play, and chapelled them out of your deck. I go first, I get two cards out, buy stuff. You go, and get a bunch of spells, drop no cards, buy stuff. I go again, drop two more cards and attack … you. I’ve got 4 cards to zero, and I’ve seen that you’ve already discarded most of your spells. I get a prestige (VP) for attacking you, more if I happen to kill you.

Um, yay?

A bit far fetched, but I’m sure a slightly less obnoxious version happens often.

More importantly, if I attack you and you happen to have a hand of spells, I’m in serious trouble. If I attack you and you happen to have a hand of stuff, I’m gold. I understand the argument that I should be card counting, but no. I’m not playing deckbuilding games like that.

Add in the tedious counting of attack/defense totals, and I’m done. (Seriously, here’s my turn ~3 attack. “6 + 4 + 3 for the sword + 2 + 2 for the henchman bonus + 5 for the spells is, uh…” And my defense was about is high. I’m told that turn 10 attacks get into the 70s).  Fortunately I ran into a handful of spells that killed all my people, making counting easier and ending the game on the next turn.

The rules may or may not be well written. Lots of questionable areas, but nobody playing had read the rules, so they may be covered. In any case, I’m in no mood to try again.

Update 2 — Fred’s comment on the HoG mulligan rule is a good point. It does mitigate bad draws (and is an interesting decision idea that lots of deck building games should steal, albeit not games like Dominion where VP cards clog your deck)

Written by taogaming

October 5, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s what I wanted to see!

    Tim

    October 5, 2010 at 9:00 pm

  2. Turns out we played a few rules wrong. (Spells do kill characters before combat, you don’t lose prestige losing a unit to another player.) Reading some back-and-forth on BGG, I get the feeling that English is not the creators’ first language.

    And the solution to drawing 0 playable cards is to mulligan and draw 4 new ones. (This also allows you to get to your new purchases quicker…)

    Fred Bush

    October 5, 2010 at 9:45 pm


Comments are closed.

