The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Wabash on iPad

I got to play 2 quick games (me vs 2 AIs) … since this is a game I like, some thoughts.

  1. Very clean design. From a GUI perspective its nice (although the map should provide city values. I missed those, or perhaps it was an option I didn’t see).
  2. If this is a $5 game, this would be an automatic purchase (assuming I had an iPad). You could play with people and it would handle all the book-keeping and probably cut 15 minutes out of each game.
  3. The AIs are based on Clearclaw’s strategy articles, I think (judging from how they jump the bidding). It might be nice to have AIs that ‘creep’ the bidding up (especially for new players), but there you have it.
  4. In my first game I overlooked the fact that the game was going to end (arguably the program should say “Last round” when the end of game trigger hits, although recognizing that is part of the game), overbid on some stocks, and lost by $10. In the second game I let the AIs pick stocks early and take them (for roughly 1/2 their capital each) then picked reasonable stocks in the midgame, got some company synergy (sending Penn and NYC into Pittsburgh and developing it) and then took control of the B&O with my cash surplus, and joined it into Pittsburgh, then developing it again. I think I picked up my last 2-3 shares at roughly break even (as you’d expect), but I ended with 7 shares vs 4 vs 3 and a big win. I’m not sure if the AIs lose their way once they are off a script, but I don’t think they’d be a reasonable challenge for experienced players.
  5. I wonder if this increases or decreases the value of my copy of Wabash? Effectively it’s a new printing, and a very nice one at that for $5. On the other hand, does that make my copy more valuable by getting people who play it but don’t have an iPad interested? No idea.
  6. At some point there will be enough games for the iPad to warrant getting it and using it as a gaming table. Right now the pickings aren’t bad, you could get a decent table for $50 (Small World, Medici, Wabash, Kingsburg, Roll Through the Ages, Carcassonne, Scrabble, Settlers, Risk(!), Tichu, Mu). Not my favorites, but you can carry around a reasonable selection of games on one iPad, and the # of titles is growing steadily. For all I know there are a number of good gaming accessories (besides the Dominion Randomizer, which I know of).
Written by taogaming

October 4, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are several companies churning out BGG faves right now. I predict in 6 months it’ll cross your threshold.

    Fred Bush

    October 5, 2010 at 1:59 am

  2. To augment your points:

    1. You can view the city values by touching the city (before you select your action). You’ll get a little floating dialog with the values.

    2. Indeed, it is a $4.99 game: http://itunes.apple.com/app/wabash-cannonball/id392800625?mt=8

    5. I’m not sure there will be an immediate direct effect. As of right now, the only games that play *so well* across the table, as to effectively replace their board game counterparts are Small World, Backgammon, Chess, Go, Checkers (you get the idea). Wabash Cannonball is actually an iPhone app — not iPad specific. The developer has said that they are more concerned about online play than about a higher-resolution version that’s designed to sit on the table between the players (right now it’s “pass-n-play”)

    6. Don’t forget Neuroshima Hex and Samurai. Whether or not you like the games, their iDevice “printings” are fantastic. Especially Neuroshima.

    Tim

    October 5, 2010 at 11:02 am

  3. Oh, and where is your initial review of “Heroes of Graxia”. That’s what I came here to see today! 😉

    Tim

    October 5, 2010 at 11:05 am


Comments are closed.

