The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Ascension, Zenith, Descent

A few more games of ascension, and:

  • It really needs a starting variant. I’m tempted to say the simplest one is just “No cards that cost 1 on the opening deal.” Although possibly no void cards at all. I don’t actually know if there’s a good variant.
  • This is probably going to be like Dominion, for me. A nice fancy that could become good after an expansion or two.

So I’m still playing, but not as enthusiastic.  I’ve been vaguely pondering why it works and why it doesn’t. Only vaguely, though.

(I’ve never played the other two games, but I liked the title).

It’s still early, but I like Jesse Dean’s Geeklist on Essen. Perhaps a bit too much 18xx and Winsome, but I like those games (just not as obsessively as in the past).

Written by taogaming

September 15, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Posted in Misc, Variants

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I lost a game where I managed to banish my entire start deck, but I went military and was immediately downstream of someone going military. So my sample size of one says that the effect of having monsters sniped is bigger than the effect of early banishing.

    Fred Bush

    September 15, 2010 at 10:40 pm

  2. Thanks for the mention.

    What 18XX is there besides Poseidon? I am still not sure “how” 18XX it will be. I am just taking Lookout at their word at this point.

    Jesse Dean

    September 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm


Comments are closed.

