The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Rock Band 3

Just so you know, I’m planning on ignoring all of you when it comes out. Seriously. If the (leaked, potentially wrong) track list wasn’t enough, the fact that you can play a real guitar (and only slightly unreal keyboards and mostly real drums) means that I will be playing for … well, at least an hour, before I realize I suck and go back to fake guitar, which I’m pretty good at. But I mean, come on:

  • Werewolves of London
  • Break on Through
  • Bohemian Rhapsody
  • I Feel Good
  • Radar Love
  • Walk of Life
  • Saturday Night’s Alright
  • Space Oddity
  • Heart of Glass
  • Rock Lobster
  • Roundabout (hey, I love me some Yes).

Seriously. Don’t wait up. Late October, I’m casper. Not only do they have good songs (see above), they have guilty pleasure “Hey, I was a teenager in the 80s” songs. Which I’m totally too cool to like. Word.

Written by taogaming

August 19, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Posted in Non-Gaming, Ramblings

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wait, isn’t this the guy who balked at paying full price for a newly released video game?

    Wan Kong Yew

    August 20, 2010 at 12:05 am

  2. Dude you totally missed Everybody Wants to Rule the World! And, OMG, Sister Christian (okay, that’s a bizarre choice, but I will enjoy playing it). Yeah, for me this is all about the Keytar, so I can actually see how piano skill transfers.

    My major concerns are the Wii downgrades. The Wii versions of these games continue to have feature reduction, and I’m going to be really frustrated if some critical feature is missing. In Lego:Rock Band, which otherwise has been a big hit, its the inability to play DLC or transfer songs fron RB2. It means you are stuck with about 15 good songs for the kids. A big disappointment.

    Lou W

    August 20, 2010 at 7:19 am

  3. I’m with Brian on this. I may need to take a sabbatical. I still play RB2 all the time, mostly expert drums. I’m not sure exactly why, but some attempt at verisimilitude matters for me, so I lost interest in the fake guitar quickly. I’m a hack guitarist IRL (as in, I know about 6-8 chords and can actually form them on beat maybe 75% of the time) and I just know this will be an amazing (and humbling) experience.

    Lou, I (insanely) bought a 360 when RB1 came out for exactly this reason (and you know, it’s been worth it, which I’m kind of disturbed about). I love the Wii, and have basically no interest in the 360 other than for RB, but…the Wii is just not a “next gen” console in a lot of ways. So I can’t really blame HMX for the feature loss.

    Jon W

    August 20, 2010 at 9:46 am

    • I also bought an XBox because RB was so disappointing on the Wii.

      taogaming

      August 20, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  4. I’ve STRONGLY considered it (also for Arkham Asylum). But at the end of the day I’ve got multiple games I hardly ever play on the Wii and on the PC. I just can’t justify another game platform. Plus it does reduce some of the pressure I feel from the kids to buy even more new games.

    Lou W

    August 20, 2010 at 8:54 pm


Comments are closed.

