The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Quick Session Report

Dominion — I like the Alchemy set. I can see why Possession is annoying, but since you don’t actually lose a turn it doesn’t bother me.

Combat Commander — Played Scenario 26 (from the Paratroopers expansion … which actually just adds scenarios & maps, although some of the scenarios add a paragraph or two of rules, as you’d expect). Germans have to hold a village on D-Day against numerically superior American paratroopers, but the Americans are pressed for time. (And have to advance on several machine gun nests). Not much blood, the Americans couldn’t hit the ground with their mortars (much less the Germans) and ran out of time. Not the greatest fun I’ve had playing it, but I want to get back into CC, and now I remember the rules.

Written by taogaming

July 26, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think Possession more or less ruins some of the cards in the Seaside set, like Tactician. In other situations, it does not either improve or worsen your hand, on average.

    Eric Brosius

    July 27, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  2. I suppose that’s true, but there are lots of cards where the inclusion of another card means that playing card or strategy X is risky/bad. (Thief/Chapel being the most well known, I suppose).

    taogaming

    July 27, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  3. Three reasons not to like possession:

    1. It feels like it slows the game down. You take two turns while everyone is waiting. Maybe it isn’t any worse than villages or minion, but the perception is strong.

    2. The rules for it take a full page and the card interactions are often non-intuitive.

    3. It really breaks some cards like Masquerade. I enjoy thief/chapel (because I consider lone chapel too easy/powerful/obvious). But if there is Possession you just can’t buy Masquerade.

    David

    July 28, 2010 at 11:10 am

  4. Yesterday I announced the Play-in-Public Campaign and today I got a positive response. You are a leader in our gaming community, so I wanted to call your attention to it here: http://www.seizeyourturn.com/play-in-public-campaign/

    Thanks for taking the time to review!

    Note: I don’t expect you to approve this comment since it is not relevant to this post, I just didn’t know how better to contact you!

    Kevin E. Schlabach

    July 28, 2010 at 8:54 pm


Comments are closed.

