The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Recent Gaming

Incan Gold — I have a variant for this I rather like. At the start of each day, each player gets gold equal to the day. This does a few things:

  1. It means that an early disaster or small amount means a decision.
  2. A slight catchup mechanism.
  3. I also (personally) like the change it makes to risk/reward for leaving.

Got in my yearly game of Princes of Florence. Would have done better if my last privilege card gave me five non-scoring choices. (Technically one of them could have scored, if I’d chosen not to score my other early card). My suggested strategy is to not do that.

A few more “Brink of War” games. Despite having beaten the early privilege leader in one game, I’m still not sure how to do it consistently. I trust that the game is balanced, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to prove that to my own satisfaction via playing. Will I get to 50 games of TBoW? Probably … eventually … but not as fast as I did for Race (by a long shot).  Somewhat disconcerting.

Enjoying my new Dominion set (w/expansions). Bought 100 of those 9-sleeve pages for folders, that’s probably the best way to store it in terms of easy access/sorting (assuming I don’t want to print up labels. Even then, probably a wash).

New XBox Game — DJ Hero. Only played for an hour or two, but I like it so far.

Written by taogaming

July 5, 2010 at 11:10 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not sure what you mean by “day”. If there are 5 rounds in the game, is a day equal to one turn? So if there are six people playing (A-F), A and B have had their “turn”, on C’s turn he gets three gold? (Which he keeps upon leaving)

    So if I understand your variant correctly, I probably agree with your reasons for it and I’ll try them next time.

    I’ve played it twice, the first time I forgot to take out the disaster card once it struck twice. The second time I think I played correctly and won so easily I was sort of meh on the game.

    Jacob

    July 6, 2010 at 8:50 am

  2. I’m not exactly sure how your variant works — do you get the gold only if you successfully leave that day’s expedition?

    Greg Aleknevicus

    July 7, 2010 at 12:35 am

    • Yes, each “Day” is one of the expeditions. Everyone gets a point (outside the tent) before their first expedition, and if they leave they get to keep it.

      taogaming

      July 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  3. I’ve played about 25 2p games of Brink of War so far, some observations.

    After 10 plays, the prestige leader was 8-1-1. In the last 10 games I think it’s 5-3-2. Three things have happened. First, we are getting better at deciding on how to value staying close in prestige so that the leader position is changing (or at risk of changing) during the game. Second, we are getting better at using prestige to do things at the right time (nice consumes, super actions) so we are more focused on ‘winning’ than just in leading prestige. Third, we have gotten a lot better at being flexible.

    Flexibility is the key part of Brink for me. Through the first two expansions I had about a 65% winning percentage against my friend (now about 250 2p games). So far in Brink I’m at ~40% (and climbing…it was 25%). His theory, which I now agree with, it that I was more of a planner, and he was more of an adapter. Generally after about the 4th card in the tableau, I’d have a darn good idea what path I intended to take to victory, and I’d focus aggressively on that path. He’d ‘play the cards’ more and be less focused. But in Brink, I’m finding that you have to have that flexibility.

    This is because there are so many cards now that are so powerful (especially for leaching), and also because the card variance is so high. If you haven’t been doing it, I highly recommend using the search power mid-game just for the education. It’s stunning to call the 5+ military search after an early rush to +7 Military, and then watch 30 cards go by before seeing one. It makes +1 explore seem kind of pointless.

    Where I know we still have a lot to learn is in valuing goals (I value them a LOT in a 2p game…but maybe too much), tempo (most of our games end up in the 50-80 point range…but occasionally a 20 or 30. I think rushing is more valid than it has seemed), and in understanding the distribution of Uplift cards. Playing an Uplift heavy tableau, so far, has been like a 0-5 strategy.

    Lou W

    July 7, 2010 at 8:23 am


Comments are closed.

