The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Dominion Again

Should I revise my take on Dominion? Well, I did get a copy but I waited until:

They are certainly fine additions to my collection, but the lack of a “driving desire” is still there. That being said, I look forward to exploring the new cards in Intrige and Seaside. I gather that they expand the space, but even if they don’t I’m much less likely to quickly burn through it all, because I won’t play anymore online.

Dominion strikes me as the (relatively) rare game that online play would be a net benefit. You can play the full game, and obsess and burnout. But unlike other games where that’s the end (and you buy or not based on a sense of obligation), the BSW Implementation serves as a ‘teaser’ for the full (offline) game. I’d certainly have never traded for it if the expansions had never shown up, but now that they have, I think it will hit the table somewhat frequently.

Written by taogaming

June 30, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I finally got around to venting my spleen about Dominion on my new Geekdo comments project.

    Linnaeus

    June 30, 2010 at 10:49 pm

  2. I like Dominion, and I like playing the new expansions as they come out. I think the base game plus Intrigue plus 1-2 at most from Seaside is best. I’m still luke warm on Alchemy but I want to play it a bit more. So far the curve is: so-so on the base game, really liking Intrigue with the base game and getting less excited about adding each new expansion.

    I strongly recommend Tom’s changes (equal turns, phantom Provinces). I also prefer playing a series of games when it gets pulled out. After each game remove the set of cards taken most, taken least and one of the last player’s choice. Replace with 3 sets of unplayed cards.

    frunk

    July 1, 2010 at 10:11 am

  3. My enthusiasm for Dominion has remained solid. It is right now in a regular rotation with Small World and Race, amongst the games I play with my friend most weekends. I expect we’ll play more Thunderstone once the expansion is out, as it has really needed the expanded play space.

    But, that said, part of my reason for continual enthusiasm for Dominion is from playtesting the next expansion at the Gathering. I only played 3 games, but it was awesome. It really opened up the decision space and made the game feel really fresh. I agreed that Alchemy felt like a bit of a miss, and might have felt like the game had peaked, if I hadn’t played Prosperity.

    Lou W

    July 1, 2010 at 7:32 pm


Comments are closed.

