The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Yeah, I was on vacation

So I’ve got nothing, gaming wise. But some more thoughts on Disney:

  • Not that crowded, actually.
  • The Narnia Experience (at Hollywood Studios) was “Swiss Family Robinson Treehouse” bad. My daughter (10) used the phrase “that’s 10 minutes I’ll never get back.” I didn’t think they taught that until middle school. They grow up so fast.
  • I stand by my pronouncement that Edutainment is neither Edu- nor -taining.
  • The update to Space Mountain now means that the line (with it’s multi-player space themed videogames) is now much more advanced than the ride. Just continuing to validate my theory that Disney should stick to the past.
  • I felt vaguely churlish at the (mild) whitewashing the Hall of Presidents had for Lincoln, who would have kept slavery to avoid the Civil War (whatever his personal feelings for it). But that disappeared when I stumbled out onto the Disney’s “Celebrate you!” parade. Well, if they are a celebrating us fat slobs, it would be downright rude to take potshots at Lincoln. So, my bad.
  • And I’m pretty sure that the Hall of Presidents had the entire Gettysburg Address in it. And it definitely had all the presidents. So, points for that.
  • My daughter threw back my “edu-tainment” line at me when we were walking into the Hall of Presidents.
  • Ellen’s Energy Adventure (in Epcoyt) — See: “Edu-tainment.” However, Ellen deGeneris could amuse me for 25 minutes by reading a phone book, and this was better than that.
  • Disney twice in consecutive years is a bad idea, in general. The kids aren’t nearly as excited, and I remember the rides with too much detail. We did catch a few rides missed last time…
  • I felt no remorse when I killed Animal Planet’s spot in the schedule. None.
Written by taogaming

June 26, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “…Lincoln, who would have kept slavery to avoid the Civil War (whatever his personal feelings for it).”

    I think it’s complicated. Yes, preserving the Union was Lincoln’s goal before abolishing rid of slavery. But the foremost reason for slave state secession was that the Union was on the inevitable course for abolishing slavery. As it was constituted, the Union simply couldn’t tolerate one of its original sins much longer. Preserving the Union and abolishing slavery were goals that were inextricably intertwined.

    Chris

    June 27, 2010 at 2:19 am

    • I don’t want to imply that my view is cut-and-dried, and I’m not exactly sure where I stand on the “Great Men vs. Tide of History” philosophy. You can’t expect an animatronic Lincoln to be multi-dimensional and summarize his feelings in a few seconds…

      I was just amused by the contrast between celebrating Lincoln and then “Celebrating Yourself!”

      taogaming

      June 27, 2010 at 9:43 am

  2. “…Lincoln, … would have kept slavery to avoid the Civil War (whatever his personal feelings for it).”

    That is likely true, but entirely irrelevant, since Lincoln did not have any chance whatsoever to avoid the war. It was a done deal by the time he took office. Yes, perhaps his election might have been the final straw, but if not that, something would have been.

    Regardless, look at the statement carefully. It does not imply that Lincoln was even slightly tolerant of slavery, just that he’d prefer to avoid civil war. For a political leader, it doesn’t get much worse than civil war, so basically the statement says nothing.

    jeffg

    June 27, 2010 at 10:22 am

  3. I believe Lincoln was strongly opposed to slavery, but upon becoming President, he took his oath of office (and hence the preservation of the Union) very seriously—hence his statement that if he could have preserved the union by not freeing the slaves he would have done it.

    Eric Brosius

    June 27, 2010 at 1:35 pm

  4. ‘My daughter threw back my “edu-tainment” line at me when we were walking into the Hall of Presidents.’

    Ah, the children of cynics… 🙂 Disney is a strange world now – there are so many different ideologies that it’s hard to fit them into one theme park. As incredible as their delivery is, it must be a huge effort to keep up to date and try to merge everything now.

    Oh, and even as a fan of the Narnia series I have to say that “The Narnia Experience” sounds terrible.

    Sean

    June 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm

  5. Brian, have you guys been to Animal Kingdom since Everest opened? The rest of the park I could take or leave – though my sons enjoy the “safari” too much to miss that – but Everest is likely my favorite of the Disney coasters.

    Joe Huber

    June 28, 2010 at 2:45 pm

  6. Never mind. That’s what I get for not following links, even though you thoughtfully provide them.

    Joe Huber

    June 28, 2010 at 2:46 pm


Comments are closed.

