The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

And Hansa, and Race

Two more games of Hansa, and now I’m comfortable stating that Tokens need to be nerfed. I’m (relatively) happy with the rest of the game, but I think a simple VP per token at the end instead of lumpy “Triangular number based on pairs, mainly” scoring. The tokens are already good enough that if you get a lot of them you’ve probably won without the token scoring. So make it interesting — a point each.

And putting your first cube in Gottingen (the ‘upgrade action’ city) does score quite well (~ 8 points, well worth a few turns without a 3rd action).

And I’ve now seen someone crush out the prestige but lose in Race. Not sure what I did right, but apparently the old standby of “Hey, let’s drop four 6-devs” still works.

Written by taogaming

May 22, 2010 at 11:31 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The play into Göttingen can be very dicey. If you use your first scoring run to put a cube there, the next guy can just put a disc in the next slot and totally screw you. This happened to me in my last 5p game; I had heard it was a pretty decent scoring play, so I put one there on my second turn, but before my fourth I had been trumped. I scored like two points for my effort, the guy who got the disc in scored 12+. It was a bit of a back-breaker; I had invested my first few turns getting absolutely nothing while everyone else had either 3 actions or some onboard infrastructure.

    So anyway, you have to be really careful on that one. I don’t think you want to put your initial cube into Göttingen, I think you want the third action, just because even though there is a good potential for payoff, there is also a substantial risk of getting completely screwed. Getting the disc in the second spot is a much stronger play, since you’re pretty much locked in to significant points. But you can only do that if someone steps up for the first spot.

    I think you typically just want to get that 3rd action ASAP.

    Chris

    May 23, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    • I did think about the fact that it’s a somewhat prisoner’s dillema, but I wasn’t sure I was remembering the board correctly. I thought the second spot in gottingen was an Orange disc, but if it’s just a white disc you are taking a risk.

      If someone trumped me on that I’d pretty much make a beeline for the chit to reverse the positions and reverse it. You’ve probably lost, to be sure, but may as well hit them back.

      Given all that, it’s probably not a good play, which is annoying because I’d hate to think that there weren’t many early options.

      taogaming

      May 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      • Can’t reverse it, unfortunately; you can’t swap a cube with a disk. You could get the chit that allows you to place an extra Kontor to the left, because then you would at least outnumber him to control the city, but the real problem there is the need to score the route again, and it’s a heavily contested route, and therefore expensive.

        As a result of this I don’t think I like how Göttingen is laid out. I’d think a white disk, followed by maybe even a pink space would be a lot better than the white cube, white disk. I might see if someone over on BGG can photoshop a paste-up 🙂 You give up quite a lot to get that kontor there, it would be nice if it could ensure at least reasonable returns.

        Chris

        May 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

  2. Oh, yes, and I think you’re probably right on the discs. The scoring is too hard to explain anyway.

    Chris

    May 23, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    • You can’t reverse a cube and a disc? That’s the damn image on the chit! (I haven’t read the rules, but that’s how it was explained, and obviously the icon shows it … I just went to BGG images to check…)

      taogaming

      May 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm

      • Doh! You’re right. I was misled by a quick glance at the admittedly rocky translation included in the box. Well, that would be some help. Still too expensive, though 🙂

        Chris

        May 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm


Comments are closed.

