The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Eyes on the Future …

Haggis — Tichu for three. I’m not one of Tichu’s numerous victims, but it’s fine. I suspect I’d like (but not love) Haggis. On the other hand, I’m living in Innovation’s ballpark. I’ll get it.

Montage is being reprinted. I never understood the hype…

How ’bout you? Any anxious waiting.  Not counting the new Race expansion. Malevolents, assemble!

Written by taogaming

April 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Posted in Open Thread

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I adore Montage and am thrilled that it’s finally getting a reprint.

    As for games coming down the pike, I’ll be curious to see how good 7 Wonders is. My hope is that it will be the first populist super-filler (such as Dominion and Race) that really strikes a chord with me.

    I’ve enjoyed my games of Freitag, so that’s worth looking forward to. But the game I’m really anxious about is Alan Moon’s latest spinoff of his Airlines/Union Pacific design. I really enjoyed the prototype and thought it superior to its two predecessors (both of which I like a lot), but I have no idea if Abacus will be releasing it for Essen or even at all. So that’s one I’m hoping for.

    Larry Levy

    April 29, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  2. Somewhat interested in 7 Wonders, yes.

    Also Age of Industry (I still haven’t played Brass), Workshop of the World from Ragnar Brothers and of course the Winsome Essen set.

    Mikko

    April 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm

  3. Thanks for reminding me about the Wallace stuff, Mikko. I’m a big fan of Brass, so it’ll be interesting to see if Age of Industry shortens the game without stripping away too much of it. I’m actually more excited about London, which looks like it could be very good. And Workshop of the World (which is rather Brass-like) also sounds interesting; hopefully, someone in my group will grab a copy.

    Larry Levy

    April 29, 2010 at 11:17 pm

  4. Besides Freitag, Friedemann has another enjoyable game on the way. I’m not sure if I’m anxious for either, though.

    I played two small games earlier this month which I thought quite clever, but neither is on a release schedule to the best of my knowledge.

    I do want to try Glen More again, though I’m not certain about it.

    Hmmm… lots of fine games I’m looking forward to, but nothing I’m anxious waiting for. Of course, I wasn’t anxious waiting for Macao, either…

    Anonymous

    April 30, 2010 at 9:17 am

  5. Besides Freitag, Friedemann has another enjoyable game on the way. I’m not sure if I’m anxious for either, though.

    I played two small games earlier this month which I thought quite clever, but neither is on a release schedule to the best of my knowledge.

    I do want to try Glen More again, though I’m not certain about it.

    Hmmm… lots of fine games I’m looking forward to, but nothing I’m anxious waiting for. Of course, I wasn’t anxious waiting for Macao, either…

    Joe Huber

    April 30, 2010 at 9:17 am

  6. I like Haggis. I think its most interesting for 2, as it fills a new niche there. Trichu already did a great job at Tichu for 3.

    Haggis is also good for 3. Trichu is very skill testing and tough for new players, while Haggis is a great 3 player Tichu-like game for 3 that is friendly to new players.

    Alexfrog

    May 1, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    • I’ve been enjoy Innovation and Moongha Invaders lately.

      What am I waiting for? Glen More. I had worked on a very similar design, and never finished – I’m glad to see the concept now in print.

      Of course, I’m anxiously awaiting “Hey Waiter!”, and hoping fans of partnership card games will find enjoyment here.

      http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/67309/hey-waiter

      Anthony Rubbo

      May 4, 2010 at 5:24 pm


Comments are closed.

