The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Administering, etc

Some notes:

  1. Several comments were caught in the spam trap, for no reason I can think of (especially since I’ve approved comments by all of you before). Sorry about that. In particular, Mark’s response to Online Race and Chris’s response to Origins. I guess I’ll have to comb the spam filter from now on.
  2. No real recent gaming other than Bridge (partially due to Passover). Although apparently my most recent session on BBO attracted kibitzers (due to the quality of our opponents, at least one of which Jeff knows). So they got to see my partner and I bid to 4 diamonds redoubled on our 4-2 fit, after I mistakenly flipped which convention applied (and then didn’t wake up). Only off one, but game is cold in NT or hearts. On the plus side, we were the only pair (out of 16) to get to that cold club slam
  3. I’m more stoked than I should admit by the prospect of Jason Segel writing and staring in the new Muppet movie. (I’m enjoying How I Met Your Mother, and just saw Forgetting Sarah Marshall, which he wrote/starred).
  4. I don’t consider myself an Ameritrasher, but when I started looking at the rules for Fresco for the BGG contest, my first thought was “Seriously?” Followed by “Life’s too short.”  So I just guessed all As.
  5. OK, the iPad does look like a decent platform. Still not getting one.
  6. Wouldn’t mind a copy of Small World, though.
  7. If you play on BBO/OKBridge, you should definitely go add your username to the thread on BGG. (I’m usually on BBO from 7-9.30 Central on Weds…)
Written by taogaming

April 3, 2010 at 10:18 am

Posted in Misc

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I don’t consider myself an Ameritrasher, but when I started looking at the rules for Fresco for the BGG contest, my first thought was “Seriously?” Followed by “Life’s too short.” So I just guessed all As.”

    I’m surprised it took you this long – I’ve been submitting random guesses for a few years.

    Though, oddly enough, this time I’d played the game so I got them all right (though I had to guess at the one for a variant I hadn’t tried).

    Joe Huber

    April 12, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    • Well, for a long time I’d read the rules just to see if I liked the game (whether there was a contest or not). I mean, I read the (much longer) Dungeon Lords Rules without a contest. But I couldn’t be bothered to read these even with a contest. I didn’t read the homesteaders rules, because buying it was assumed…

      taogaming

      April 12, 2010 at 11:07 pm


Comments are closed.

