The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Wil Wheaton’s speech on games

I’m old school, so I’d have much rather read it than listened to it (a few moments excepted), but it’s good. It’s like that scene from “Freaks” (One  of us, One of us) except that he’s Hollywood ugly, not gamer-ugly. Well, that’s just a cross that Wil and I have to bear. With grace and dignity.

And while I don’t feel a strong urge to go to Pax (although if ya’ll have gone, you can let me know if that’s a correct urge) I certainly understand the sentiments and feelings. I’m a little burned out on conventions right now (I barely register missing the games at the Gathering, although missing the people always reminds me that the room is a bit dusty…)

Written by taogaming

March 31, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Given that I live about 30 minutes from PAX East, I should have at least considered going…but I didn’t. After watching Wil’s speech, that seems really stupid. I firmly intend to do a better job this year of paying attention to my non-Gathering gaming options, as, once again, next week will be the first time since last year I will have gamed outside my house.

    Lou W

    March 31, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  2. See you next week, Lou!

    JeffG

    March 31, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  3. Overall PAX West is probably the biggest con I’ve been to. The board gaming is definitely smaller than CABS Boardroom and probably smaller than the local gaming con in Portland, GameStorm.

    Taken as a whole there probably is more tabletop at PAX since there are healthy CCG, Mini and RPG areas too. There are few signups though so you have to rely on pickup gaming, either by wandering around or using twitter.

    The show floor is pretty impressive but unless you’re actually going to try a lot of video games it will only take an hour or two to see everything. In the past Fantasy Flight had a booth with demoes of new games (like BSG before it launched). I’m not sure whether they plan to do that again.

    Greg

    April 1, 2010 at 3:16 am


Comments are closed.

