The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

In which the lifeforms admit…

I see (via a Tweet) that Tom’s designer diary for Brink of War runs tomorrow.  Checking the geek, I’ve averaged about 3 plays of Race a month over the last year. I’m sure that number will pick up again, but I can’t help but think that I feel like a great old one destroying worlds, but my heart isn’t really into it.

Have I lost my malevolence? Or is it just a funk…

Here’s hoping the preview gives me a spark.

Lo these many years ago, Tom said he thought that Race (and any game) had a natural limit of expansions. We’ll see how he pushes this. I think I’ll fire up the computer game, just for old times sake…

Update — Seeing some of the new cards is a nice pick-me-up…

Written by taogaming

March 21, 2010 at 9:49 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Personally I have been playing tons of race recently, ability to play online with RvI has renewed my enthusiasm yet again. Cant wait for the expansion.

    Alexfrog

    March 23, 2010 at 12:59 pm

  2. Where are you guys playing online?

    Lou W

    March 23, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  3. There’s Genie Online:
    http://genie.game-host.org/

    Which maxes at 4 players, TGS. It’s also missing Gambling World, doesn’t let you see opponent’s play before paying and resolves Diversified Economy/DAF incorrectly. I do a three and four player game there each day (indognito is the handle).

    There’s also Flex Games:
    http://www.flexboardgames.com/Rftg.html

    It has RvI and also maxes at 4 players. I haven’t checked it out yet.

    frunk

    March 24, 2010 at 2:53 am

  4. I thought I posted about the online games but it appears to have been eaten…

    I play on Genie:
    http://genie.game-host.org/

    It only does up to 4 players and TGS. It also is missing Gambling World, doesn’t let you see opponent’s plays before discarding and messes up Diversified Economy/DAF. I usually start a three and a four player game each day.

    There’s also Flex:
    http://www.flexboardgames.com/Rftg.html

    Which I haven’t played. It has RvI but it sounds like it’s still somewhat buggy.

    frunk

    March 24, 2010 at 1:53 pm


Comments are closed.

