The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

I had a nightmare …

… I was in an airport. That’s it. End of story. Wake up in a cold sweat.

It’s a sad commentary on the state of the country that the 9/11 terrorists have (effectively) economically destroyed the value of an entire industry through the bank-shot of preying on panic and government stupidity (both highly renewable resources).

I can’t make it to the Gathering this year (sadly), although after my horrors at the airport last year I’m not terribly upset about it (to be fair; mostly weather based problems). I briefly toyed with signing up for the WBC (since the whole family could go), but the thought of having to spend two days flying soured my interest (the fact that I’d then have t rent a car and drive an hour, or some such, sealed the non-deal). If I go to BGG Con (unlikely) it will be by car. In fact, the odds are good I’ll not set foot in a plane this year, which would probably make it the first time in over two decades, perhaps three.

Which, in a way, is too bad. Planes are useful. It’s a shame we’ve been making them less so.

Written by taogaming

March 13, 2010 at 11:17 am

Posted in Non-Gaming, Rant

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think if you add up the direct expense of TSA and the indirect productivity losses, it’s costing us the equivalent of thousands of lives a year and we’d be much better off taking our chances with the terrorists.

    Unfortunately most people have a very poorly developed sense of risk and odds, which is good for me professionally, but bad on the public policy front. If we had actuaries designing our antiterrorism policy I’d be much happier with the situation.

    Fred Bush

    March 13, 2010 at 6:03 pm


Comments are closed.

