The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

An intriguing new CDG

Yesterday (on my commute) I was reflecting on my thoughts on Here I Stand, both on mechanics and idly wondering other historical situations that could produce a multi-player CDG with a variety of conflict types (instead of just straight military). Vietnam entered my head (my thought was to make the USA multiple factions). No doubt I was aware of Hearts and Minds at some level (I think I read a blurb on it last year) but seeing a review … wow, many of the ideas duplicated.

  • You get CPs per card, and then ‘spend’ some of them for the event (instead of being all or nothing).
  • You can bank some CPs between impulses (not an idea I posted, but one I considered yesterday). Apparently some of the events (like the Tet Offensive) cost more CPs than their card provides

There are other interesting ideas in H&M as well. (Each player has their own deck, but you split a neutral deck in half and shuffle it into each players, so your own deck isn’t static from game to game, but you also don’t have the typical CDG issue of drawing cards for your opponents).

Anyway, I’m tempted to just buy this, but I may watch for a bit longer. I don’t know if anybody else has gotten this, but I’m certainly prowling for information.

Written by taogaming

February 23, 2010 at 5:14 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “The game is quick (3-6 hours)”

    lol

    Fred Bush

    February 23, 2010 at 6:09 pm


Comments are closed.

