The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Revisiting a few new titles

Two more games of Campaign Manager, including one where McCain needed to sweep the last three states (since Obama was at 268 Electoral votes), and managed to win. I’m still pondering CM, always a good sign. By contrast, Thunderstone is weakening. I like  simply ending the game when the stone hits space 1 (not 3VPs), and not playing Humanoids, and I’m sure I’m not playing terribly well, but I have no real interest in playing better, and all the things that bug me loom larger.

I got in another game of Factory Manager, but now I’ve got a reasonable feel for it. It’s an odd auction, sometimes you want to bid more to affect how many tiles are for sale (since the # of tiles for sale roughly equals the number of remaining workers).  A unique idea, sort of related to New England’s “Bid what you like, but your price is your bid.” In a weird inverted way. Anyway, now that I see there’s something there, I’m willing to explore it for a few more games.

Another game of Powerboatsit’s a race game, alright.

I’ve been bringing Dungeon Lords to game night, and then not suggesting it. I vaguely think I should sell it, although I’d like to see the magic item variant first.

Written by taogaming

February 9, 2010 at 8:32 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, already considering abandoning Dungeon Lords? I’ve been on the fence for a while, but that’s not encouraging.

    Jon W

    February 10, 2010 at 10:51 am

  2. Often in Thunderstone’s midgame, if you draw a weak hand after you’ve already built your basic deck, you have 4 basic options: buy something marginal in the village, kill a weak monster, send a more powerful monster to the bottom, or rest and get rid of a bad card.

    I think both 4p+ games and the trainer/pawnbroker limit the option space. In 4p, it’s not clearly advantageous to send a monster to the bottom, and with the pawnbroker or trainer you don’t need to rest.

    So I might experiment with altering the setups to make more options available in midgame.

    Fred Bush

    February 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm

  3. Others in my group really love Dungeon Lords, I find it dull. The heart of the game is the simultaneous action selection phase which works pretty well and provides some nice tension. Then there’s the other 1/2 of the game where you have to add up and subtract damage and healing in the right order, picking how you want kill off the adventurers. That part gets tedious real fast.

    frunk

    February 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm

  4. I’m not feeling the love with all the symmetry in CM 2008. I should’ve done more homework, I guess. I thought they would feel very different to draft/play….

    Jon W

    February 16, 2010 at 4:08 pm


Comments are closed.

