The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The Blogiversary

You know, I’ve been doing this for five years, and that doesn’t even count the original Tao of Gaming site (you know, the blue background, hosted on pyro.net, where I coded HTML by hand because that’s how we rolled).

Last night I got in another game of Homesteaders (4 player this time). Continuing my preferred strategy, I got a turn 1 market, then followed up with a T4 foundry and a T6 River Port (which lets you automatically convert a gold to livestock or copper). So I was rolling in Trade chits…one a turn and I almost never needed to convert.

That worked well, like I thought. Ignore steel at your own risk (the River Port was really just icing on the cake, although you do need at least one “advanced” good by mid game). Since I used almost none of my trade chits to buy, they converted to VP at an almost 1:1 ratio (selling excess steel in the midgame for money, and then selling goods at the endgame for VP/Money).

I also got a game of Pegasus in … since we had a new player, we just used the Kobol victory conditions (skipping New Caprica). In general, I think that my preferred form is 5 players, no Cylon leaders, and Kobol. Of course, we had two cylons off the deal, sitting back to back, and one of them was the Admiral (which we discovered after our first jump). So humanity lost.

Written by taogaming

January 26, 2010 at 1:49 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I played Homesteaders twice this weekend and was fairly impressed with it (impressed enough that I will be getting my own copy tomorrow). My big concern is that i will lose interest once I “figure it out” hopefully, with the variety that is available, that will take a long time.

    doubtofbuddha

    January 26, 2010 at 9:13 pm

  2. Congratulations! Five years is a long time. But just five? I must’ve followed your blog pretty much from the beginning, then. I don’t remember the old site, though.

    My boardgame websites reached the ripe age of 10 years last year – now that’s scary…

    msaari

    January 26, 2010 at 11:49 pm

  3. Happy blogiversary. Glad to have you posting.

    Yehuda

    Yehuda Berlinger

    January 27, 2010 at 3:19 am

  4. Congratulations. I’d really enjoyed reading your short, sharp commentary.

    Iain

    January 27, 2010 at 8:05 am

  5. I clearly remember the old site. While many other board game sites have come and gone, yours is as active as ever.

    jacob

    January 27, 2010 at 10:13 pm


Comments are closed.

