The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Quick Con Report and Question

I wrote up my “Lone Star Gaming” up as a geeklist. But one question here … is my Factory Manager experience normal? Now that I think about it, the problem was almost certainly not bidding up the big discount tile on T1. This meant that we had to put out a lot of machines into the market, and my wife’s discount just dominated. She could get one more production, so an extra $10 (minus a point of energy or two) and that just compounded.

I don’t know if I understand exactly when workers become available either, which may have affected things. If you buy seasonal workers (during phase three), you can use them that turn, assign them to the break room (if necessary) and then use them again next turn during phase 3?

Written by taogaming

January 2, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Convention Reports

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seasonal workers can not be used for acquisitions (or tear-downs) the turn they are acquired. The first turn, in a two player game, there will be six components + the three starting components – the number of workers bid = total number of components, and neither player can acquire more than three. In a two player game, I haven’t found the first auction to be critical, even if the difference in discounts is large, as it balances well with first dibs on the good stuff…

    Joe Huber

    January 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  2. Well, perhaps I just took the wrong stuff. I was playing quickly (not quite Huber speed). Apparently I missed a rule that all unbid stuff goes back onto the sheet and doesn’t stay in the market, but must be pulled down again next turn… (at least, one comment on a geekthread indicated that).

    taogaming

    January 3, 2010 at 10:52 am

  3. Yes, that’s correct – unsold items become available again in future turns, and must be selected prior to other items higher in the same column.

    Joe Huber

    January 3, 2010 at 10:53 am


Comments are closed.

