The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

New Game Updates

Now that I’ve played Homesteaders again, I’m (possibly prematurely) updating my rating. I’m still not sure how many paths to victory there are, but it’s enough. My fourth play of Dungeon Lords, by contrast, was fine but I’m mentally putting this into the “experience game” category. I suppose there is strategy, but I don’t care.  (To be fair, I still haven’t played a full game).

Got to play Powerboats, which I enjoyed, and Jungle Speed, which I won. Powerboats inflicted a mental block where I kept forgetting I could slow down and reroll (I always remembered the option when speeding up). It might make a good game for the kids, too. And my boat, sponsored by Digital Motors  (“It’s either full speed ahead or nothing!”), kept me amused even as hopes were dashed.

Written by taogaming

December 8, 2009 at 5:30 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been playing 2-player Powerboats on mastermoves.eu for about six months. It was fun to play a many-boat race, and the experience of playing online definitely helped – for such a simple concept there’s a lot to keep straight. I like that it’s a racing game that actually moves pretty fast, AND has decent strategy choices.

    Sean

    December 8, 2009 at 6:33 pm

  2. I wanted to like Homesteaders, but it fell utterly flat for me. I don’t care how many development paths there are to victory, because the game surrounding them offers nothing new. Auction the right to build, pick the thing you want to build, repeat. I’d rather play Vegas Showdown, which has all of the above (and more), but without the fiddliness of the marketplace.

    Peter

    December 8, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  3. What are you updating your rating to?

    Ed

    December 9, 2009 at 4:33 am

  4. I’m upping it to a 9. It could drop easily drop back to 8, but I’m involved when I’m playing. Much more so than Dungeon Lords.

    And I should play Vegas Showdown again. I like that quite a bit…

    taogaming

    December 9, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    • @Peter: Sorry you didnt like it. The trading seems a bit polarizing, some people love it, some people just think its really fiddly. I guess it depends on whether you find it fun to swap one thing for another. I do think the combination of monetary + resource payments to build is quite unique.

      @Brian: Or, you could easily up it again to a 10, since its awesome. Or so I’ve heard. 😀

      I love Vegas Showdown (obviously), it is exceptional. Its a similar game but it replaces the resource combination collection aspect with a spacial aspect.

      Alexfrog

      December 10, 2009 at 1:39 am

  5. Often times a theme will either work or not for someone… not much to be done about that. I agree that the auction mechanic between Vegas showdown and Homesteaders is similar – but beyond that they are pretty different.

    “Auction the right to build, pick the thing you want to build, repeat.” But you say yourself it’s also got the marketplace – perhaps that’s what you don’t like about the game? Figuring out how to pick items that maximize the output of what you already have in hand is a big part of the fun. Figuring out a multi-step trade to get that copper for the best cost is also fun. I love hearing the steps play out “I’m going to turn this wood into an apple, then trade the apple for $3 and a VP, and then buy a copper for $4” The one unique thing about the game that I haven’t seen before is the trade markers… beyond that, the game has lots of mechanics used in other games, but not in this combination.

    Sean

    December 10, 2009 at 10:53 am


Comments are closed.

