The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

D’oh!

After commenting that “my partner and I were on the same wavelength” I suppose this was inevitable. During a team game last night, LHO opened 2H (weak-ish) partner doubled (takeout) and RHO passed. I held:

xxx xxx xxx AKxx, and bid 2N. We play that 2N forces a relay to 3C indicating a hand that wants no further part of the auction (By comparison, bidding 3C directly shows real values) . After a few seconds, I realize partner has not alerted and has probably forgotten … but he alerts, then bids 3H (showing a very good hand) and I raise to four. Score it up.

Disaster averted, but then I pick up …

ATx Kx AKQT AKxx. My RHO opens 2H and, out of necessity, I double (planning on bidding 3N over partners expected 2S). LHO passes and partner … bids 3 Clubs! Amazing. After discovering that partner does not have a heart stopper I bid 6 Clubs and then watch as partner agonizes and goes down two. Yup, despite having that agreement come up on the prior hand, partner had completely forgotten to use Lebensohl (the 2N relay to show a weak hand). I did have a legitimate clue that partner had forgotten … I started by bidding 3 Hearts as a general force and LHO doubled. If partner really had values and RHO really had ~7 points for the 2H bid then LHO would be totally broke, and would have sacrificed earlier or stayed quiet the whole time…

Normally that would just be a memory error, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a system forgotten the hand after it comes up successfully….

Written by taogaming

November 18, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Posted in Bridge, Session Reports

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I find that Thibault cancels out Capa Ferro. Don’t you?

    brettspiel

    November 22, 2009 at 5:56 pm


Comments are closed.

