The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Bizarre collector habits

I’m going through a weird phase where I take more delight shrinking my collection than growing it (although I still buy games, even on a whim). The prospect of shrinking my collection by 15% (which is what’s happening this weekend as I consign ~30 games to the BGG.Con flea market, with only about 5 of them possibly coming back) is strangely joyous.  Granted, I’m hoping to replace them with 4 (or maybe 5) good games.

(I’m not entirely over my collector bug … a few games are held despite knowing that I probably won’t play them again, but there you go). If I ever bit the bullet and dropped my collection to 100 titles (not counting expansions)  doubt I’d miss the extras once they were gone. Perhaps if I ever go to BGG Con I’ll take all my high-value games and sell off whatever fetches a fair price.

Good luck and happy hunting to all of you going to BGG Con, and don’t fall for the traditional jokes we play on non-Texans (like having to order a left handed steak).

Written by taogaming

November 15, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Posted in Open Thread

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I suspect my break point would be in the 200-250 range. That’s mostly because there are 100-125 games I’m not giving up, and about an equal number I might eventually, but am not done with yet.

    But I’m getting everything I own to the table often enough that I don’t feel like a collector enough to worry about it…

    Joe Huber

    November 15, 2009 at 9:47 pm

  2. I’d love to hit 100 (I’m over by ~80, not including expansions of course). But in practice, it’s a PITA to get rid of most of them, as most stuff doesn’t move even at a “fair price” on BGG (at least not quickly, say within a couple months), and ebay is too expensive and time-consuming to net $12/game.

    I’m with Brian: there’s few I’d really miss, and there’s always a handful every year that I just know I’ll purchase.

    Jon W

    November 16, 2009 at 10:05 am

  3. LOL. Brian, that’s exactly how I felt last night as I made my BGG resale pile. I had a smile, and a tinge of regret with some of them, but a smile overall. And yes, I too am making room for new stuff.

    I’ve finally accepted that this is the nature of the beast…this is what will happen every year (specially peri-Essen). Every year there is going to be new stuff I just want to buy. Some of it I burn out on, others I just get tired of, and the minority I consider worth keeping for good. So I sell the stuff that is not part of this minority, and lather, rinse, repeat.

    Rob

    November 17, 2009 at 3:00 pm


Comments are closed.

