The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A business suggestion to the family

Dear The Mob,

I know times are tough all around, so I’m offering you a business suggestion. I suggest you offer computer protection. Affordably priced, say $100 a year. But, you protest, “I am just a humble businessman, and am befuddled by computers, as much as the next honest entrepreneur.”

I know. I know.

What would I expect for $100? Sympathy. I’d call you up, and say “Mr. Honest Businessman, some bastard of a hacker snuck a virus onto my system, and now I’m getting pop-up ads offering to help me work at home earning a degree in computer art to design advertisements that offer to Make. Her. Ecstatic.”

You would reply “That sounds terrible,” and listen while I bitch about the 10 hours lost cleaning up my system. Believe me, a sympathetic listener is worth the money.

We will both be shocked and saddened to hear about that young hacker’s suicide, via a silenced pistol to his temple. Such a tragedy. No doubt we will commiserate about the troubled state of modern society, leading a troubled young person towards a life of idle crime and destruction, which spiraled inevitably to self-destruction.

Signed,
One of many

P.S. For now, I will get my sympathy via Malware-bytes, which will be getting some of my money, assuming that my computer is still working in a month. Technically quite proficient, but not nearly as sociable.

Written by taogaming

October 13, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Posted in Rant

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you know what the vector was? Bad website/browser? Bad email/download? Remote hack into your system?

    ekted

    October 13, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  2. I think that Lady Tao got confused and accidentally allowed a (web-page pushed) download that my firewall wanted to block. But it’s tough to say …

    Brian

    October 14, 2009 at 6:02 pm


Comments are closed.

