The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Remember, gamers don’t let gamers …

Buy a Wii. UFC Undisupted is indeed sweet (albeit with insanely complicated controls for the ground game).

Played a lot of Face to Face Dominion for the first time. I’ve certainly played a lot on BSW, but I’m starting to enjoy the ‘real’ game. I’ll certainly trade for a copy now. Also got in a game of Through the Ages, and managed to self destruct when I sacrificed my army to get a colony that provided enough yellow tokens that I could easily rebuy the people in one turn. I forgot I wouldn’t have enough ore to rebuild the units for 2-3 turns. And two turns as whipping boy is one too many. I managed to recover somewhat and had a huge run in the end, despite only producing 4 ore a turn at game end (and one of those was via a trade agreement). Lots of mineral deposits, patriotism and military build ups (6 civil actions by mid game, 8 by mid Age III).

Also played the “Ace of Aces” book game. Exactly how many games use that exact same system? Ace of Aces, Blue Max, Richtoffen’s War (which, I’m told, the Ace of Aces people used to build their book). There’s a miniature version of Blue Max I’ve seen (the players had never heard of Blue Max, but their rules were identical, down to the damage chits).

Written by taogaming

June 7, 2009 at 9:32 am

Posted in Artificial Opponents

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Big thing here is the expansion for Boom Blox (which I know that you inexplicably didn’t like). It’s awesome, in many ways better than the first…more throwing challenges, less grabbing challenges.

    Greyson got Mario Super Sluggers (Mario Baseball) last weekend for his 7th birthday. I’m now icing down my elbow after three hours of play today. I just couldn’t beat him! At one point I got given a nice speech, “Practice Daddy. Practice is the key to baseball. I would have thought a grown-up would have known that.” Yeah kid, whatever. Let’s go at it again. Ow.

    Lou

    June 7, 2009 at 10:11 pm

  2. By all accounts Punch Out is very fun as well (and much more kid friendly than UFC). Although I believe it doesn’t use the Wiimote except as a standard controller.

    But UFC is pretty fun I will give you that much.

    Michael

    June 7, 2009 at 10:27 pm

  3. Zack &Wiki is a great puzzle game.

    Punch out is awesome, and not for the kiddies after you get to a certain point (it’s too hard).

    House of the Dead: Overkill is cool, except for the unnecessary use of vulgarity. (this coming from someone who likes the well placed use of a swear word. There is an f-bomb about every 15 seconds of dialog)

    Trauma Center is probably the best use of the Wii-mote yet. Really looking forward to Tiger Woods with motion plus.

    Mark Haberman

    June 8, 2009 at 12:28 pm

  4. FtF Dominion: It always just makes me wish we were playing it on BSW, because it would go 3 times as fast and not require shuffling.

    Alexfrog

    June 8, 2009 at 2:47 pm

  5. FtF Dominion: It always just makes me wish we were playing it on BSW, because it would go 3 times as fast and not require shuffling.

    Alexfrog

    June 8, 2009 at 2:47 pm

  6. FtF Dominion: It always just makes me wish we were playing it on BSW…

    The first time or two it did, but surprisingly the feeling went away. It helps that it’s a game you can play while holding conversations…

    Brian

    June 8, 2009 at 11:56 pm

  7. FtF Dominion: It always just makes me wish we were playing it on BSW…

    The first time or two it did, but surprisingly the feeling went away. It helps that it’s a game you can play while holding conversations…

    Brian

    June 8, 2009 at 11:56 pm


Comments are closed.

