The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Battle of the not-competent Flight C players

Or, round #3.

Board #7, both vulnerable, south deals. I hold:

 S: 84
 H: AQJT532
 D: QT
 C: A5

The auction seems normal at the time:

South Pard North Me
----------------------
P    P    1C    1H
P    1N    P    2H
P    P     X     P
2S   3H    All Pass


????

 S:Q75
 H:96
 D:K86
 C:KQ863


 S:84
 H:AQJT532
 D:QT
 C:A5

 C:5 led

Partner has full values to compete, although I’d have been tempted to sit with so much defense. I probably would have bid 3H in any case. So … win the Club ace and play hearts from the top, or win the club king and hook?

I’m only missing 17 HCP … north has at least one spade honor and the JT of clubs, but everything else could be anywhere. Arguing for the hook is the fact that north has the preponderance of points. Arguing against is that south clearly thought it reasonable to lead from shortness. Kxx in trumps makes that look good. So what do you do?

To cleanse the palate, I pick up another hefty hand.

 S: AKT2
 H: AKJT4
 D: QT
 C: Q3

In 3rd seat, I get to open…

Pard North Me   South
---------------------
P    P     1H   2D
P    2N     ?

What does north have? Presumably the heart queen, Probably with three small hearts. A club honor. The spade queen. Diamonds look like they’ll run. I think their likely to make it. Should I bid on? Partner looks to have a whole lot of nothing. I pass. What do you lead?

If I can find an entry and get a heart through we can set. (Two spades, “Entry”, three hearts) as long as I find it before they run their tricks. So I lead the Spade. Dummy hits with:  S: 8
 H: 97
 D: AKJ932
 C: JT52.

Partner plays the spade three (standard signals). Now I have to decide … cash out (if Declarer has AKxx of clubs, he can run 9 tricks as soon as he gets in) or play for partner to have a club stopper (or a declarer error). I honestly have no idea what to do. It seems to me that declarer could have Qxx Qxxx xx AKxx and pass in the second seat. I can’t decide. I decide to risk cashing the HK. Partner plays the 5, declarer the 2. Is partner really signalling in hearts? I play the Ace. Partner completes the echo! I lead the Jack and partner shows out. Declarer runs the diamonds and cashes the club ace, and partner is apologizing…



 S:J74
 H:Q862
 D:8
 C:A9874

 S:Q9853
 H:53
 D:7654
 C:K6


 S:AKT2
 H:AKJT4
 D:QT
 C:Q3

 S:6
 H:97
 D:AKJ932
 C:JT52

OK, that is a pretty shocking error. (See title of post). Not that my defensive logic (after trick one) was very good, but … man. -120 when we could make +150 … or +420 (four spades making) is a deserved zero.

Examine the following routine Heart Game by North-South



 S:T3
 H:QJT82
 D:AKT9
 C:J6



 S:K led

 S:A9642
 H:AK3
 D:85
 C:A53

Do you see any way to make five? There are several reasonable ways to make an overtrick:

  • Play two diamonds (risking a ruff) then rough a diamond high in dummy, cross to HQ, ruff the other diamond. You’ll lose a spade and a club if it works. This requires trumps to behave as well.
  • Lead a spade. Win the return, cross in trump, ruff a spade high. If they break, pull trumps and pitch a club and diamond on the spades. Requires a 3-3 spade break, but trumps don’t have to behave.

Trumps behave. Spades are 3-3. Diamond honors are split (and diamonds are 4-3). Everything works, but declarer made four. Despite this, several pairs missed game or went to 3N, which should only make 3. Apparently we’re all flight Cs, sometimes. (It’s just a question of how often).

Written by taogaming

April 26, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Posted in Bridge

