The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Sierra Madre Games

I just noticed Chris Farrell’s review for Origins:How We Became Human. I’ve played several of Sierra Madre Games titles, and this sounds similar — a fascinating title that doesn’t quite work as a game. I’ve been wanting to try it for a while.

I played Lords of the Sierra Madre half a dozen-ish times (and wrote a review). I blurbed on the American Megafauna cover (to my surprise).

SMG’s designs intrigue, I just wish they had a ruthless developer taming them, trimming out a spare hour, editing the rulebook, tightening up gameplay. But I’ve bought several of their games just to read (and study the bibliography), which is more than I can say about most companies. I do want to try Origins, even though I know I’m in for the same issues…

Written by taogaming

April 5, 2009 at 11:01 am

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s obviously Sierra Madre week. I just tried unsuccessfully to solo American Megafauna. I’m going to try again with the intro game. The rules are a bit of a mess, but I’m willing to give the game a chance.

    Iain

    April 8, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  2. American Megafauna has the dubious distinction of being the only game my group takes much longer than average to play. So we didn’t play often. Another one of those “Fun simulation, ok game” things.

    Brian

    April 8, 2009 at 8:10 pm


Comments are closed.

