The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Mr. Jack Initial thoughts



I played two games of Mr. Jack last night, which means I’ve knocked off another of BGG’s Top 100.

Anyway, it’s certainly a respectable little deduction/misdirection game. I’m not sure if it’s the cream of the crop, but it’s unique. And fast. Fast counts for a lot.

On the other hand, both games were strongly influenced by the order of the draw. When I was detective I quickly narrowed it down to two people … The Yellow (guy) who controls the lights) and one other. But twice the yellow person moved at the end of the round under Jack’s control, so there was no possible way to force Jack to reveal which character was the killer. I did win, but only because the last round turn order forced the killer to move prior to my characters.

Still, I don’t mind luck in a 20 minute game. I think this falls into the “nice change of pace” category, and certainly worth trying. Does it have staying power? I don’t know, and doubt I’ll play enough to find out.

Update: As usual, I didn’t really mention mechanics. I’m sure one of these reviews mentions them, but I haven’t read any of them…

Written by taogaming

January 17, 2009 at 10:48 am

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mr. Jack isn’t a game I play a great deal, but I always enjoy it when I do. As you say, it plays different and it plays fast, two very nice characteristics, particularly in a two-player game. I don’t consider it a deduction game: determining the truth of the question of character X’s guilt is elementary in the extreme and very easy to track. No, I think of it as an exercise in using the board layout and the powers of the characters to fulfill your goals. But that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable in my eyes and it’s a game I’m glad I own.

    Larry Levy

    January 17, 2009 at 11:47 am

  2. Thanks for highlighting another game I was unaware of. It sounds unique, but too bad it doesn’t accommodate more players.

    jacob

    January 18, 2009 at 3:26 am

  3. Thanks for highlighting another game I was unaware of. It sounds unique, but too bad it doesn’t accommodate more players.

    jacob

    January 18, 2009 at 3:26 am


Comments are closed.

