The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Le Havre Initial Thoughts

Got my copy of Le Havre this week and got a (3 player) game in today. Overall I like it, but it’s too early to differentiate “Good” from something better. It depends on how many paths there are to scoring. I can’t argue against efficiency games. I did like how most of my actions felt like there were several reasonable choices. Perhaps I’m not evaluating correctly, but in Agricola it felt like most plays had an obvious best one (even in my first few games). So, generally upbeat.

Written by taogaming

December 13, 2008 at 8:22 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like it too, but its pretty long, and the marketplace is of huge importance. (And player 1 can guarantee that they get it on the first turn).

    It certainly differs from Agricola in that in Agricola, ignoring food means you lose, and in Le Havre, ignoring food means you magically gain money! And then have to lose 5 points later on.

    Alexfrog

    December 14, 2008 at 2:28 pm

  2. “I like it too, but its pretty long, and the marketplace is of huge importance.”

    I think it should play in an hour, with experience, and it should be less than two without, but that might just be me.

    The Marketplace, however, I’m becoming convinced is less important than I’d initially thought – though perhaps some of that is that I never remember to look at the special buildings.

    I’m up to 11 plays now, and my concerns – heightened after my experience with Agricola – haven’t come up to bite so far…

    Joe Huber

    December 15, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  3. It seems pretty strong to me so far, but Agricola is my favorite game, so that should not surprise anyone that much. I am kind of concerned about replayability. I liked to be able to play my games at least 50 games, and I am not sure if Le Havre will be as fun at 50-60 plays as Agricola was. We’ll see…

    doubtofbuddha

    December 15, 2008 at 5:12 pm


Comments are closed.

