The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

BSG on the Brain

I played a ton of BSG today, which shows:

  • I still obsess as well as the younger me
  • I enjoy the game (warts and all)
  • I’m not the only one
  • I really should watch Season 4.

Thoughts in no particular order:

  • A revealed cylon is stronger than an unrevealed cylon, but providing human players certainty is a downside. Patience usually leads to a critical time to twist the knife. (The downside is that some crisis will reveal you).
  • The three player game is brutal with an early cylon. [Our proposed variant is to start off with everyone as human, deal the initial cards after the first jump, and proceed normally].
  • Despite refining our human strategy, the cylons keep a significant edge. We’ve started upping resources in a 6 player game.
  • Be wary of giving the next player two actions.
  • I get dealt cylon off the deal an obscene amount of the time.
  • The storytelling aspect trumps mechanical flaws.

It may be that BSG is a flash in the pan; but what a flash.

And the last cylon is revealed by Fortress:AT (humor, no spoiler. I hope).

Written by taogaming

December 6, 2008 at 10:53 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just finished Season 4 few days ago. It’s good!

    Mikko

    December 7, 2008 at 1:29 am

  2. I just finished Season 4 few days ago. It’s good!

    Mikko

    December 7, 2008 at 1:29 am

  3. I agree with both Mikko and you. Season 4 is a good one, and I’m loving BSG: The Board Game too. I’ve played about eight or nine games so far, and the humans have yet to win one, but that just makes me want to play more!

    Cheers,

    Jack

    Jack

    December 7, 2008 at 4:13 am


Comments are closed.

