The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Wabash Cannonball & Other Notes

Having played Wabash again last night, I realize I never followed up on my earlier thoughts from the Gathering. In some ways I’m still hesitant, I just get the feeling that my 4 plays have scratched the surface; still, Wabash is a solid game, dense and fast. And if someone wanted to sell/trade me a copy of the expansion I’d be happy to try it, too. Or the Preussische Ostbahn game from the same series…

I’ll have to get play a few more times in quick succession to do a detailed review, but anyone who likes meaty economic games should try this.

I also got in another game of Middle Kingdom, which apparently falls into the category of “games I do not do well at.” It joins the (also-played) Die Mauer, which I’m amazingly bad it. That’s why I like my simultaneous selection games fast. No lingering losses.

Drafting in the Race expansion is a nice little change of pace. I’ve also been losing to the robot every now and then (in general).

Written by taogaming

December 2, 2008 at 5:35 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I find the goals make a lot more sense in light of the draft. Draft a deck with a set of goals then play best two out of three without any other changes.

    Greg Williams

    December 2, 2008 at 5:56 pm

  2. I find the goals make a lot more sense in light of the draft. Draft a deck with a set of goals then play best two out of three without any other changes.

    Greg Williams

    December 2, 2008 at 5:56 pm

  3. We have a member of our group who plays quite a bit of race and he keeps pushing for us to do a drafting game. I have dismissed the idea each time because I hate bogging down a fast game with something like that which would almost double the length of what can sometimes be a very fast game with the right players. However, I can see how if you want to spend more time on a game and try a deck building strategy to compliment the game, it could be interesting. I will have to give this a try next time…

    hermit

    December 2, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  4. Drafting the Race cards is AWESOME. Its hard to imagine playing without it now.

    Alexfrog

    December 3, 2008 at 4:22 pm

  5. Our one attempt at drafting wasn’t well received by my friends. I liked it, but the other two didn’t like how, after you drafted, your strategy was inflexible. That is, if you drafted entirely for military, or didn’t draft a single card with a consume power, you couldn’t change anything once you saw what other people were doing.

    I think they just drafted too single-mindedly. But they seemed to dislike it enough that we may never try it again. It definitely adds more time.

    Matt Crawford

    December 3, 2008 at 6:30 pm

  6. Our one attempt at drafting wasn’t well received by my friends. I liked it, but the other two didn’t like how, after you drafted, your strategy was inflexible. That is, if you drafted entirely for military, or didn’t draft a single card with a consume power, you couldn’t change anything once you saw what other people were doing.

    I think they just drafted too single-mindedly. But they seemed to dislike it enough that we may never try it again. It definitely adds more time.

    Matt Crawford

    December 3, 2008 at 6:30 pm

  7. For experienced players how long does 2 player drafting take (just for the draft, I know how long the game takes)?

    Lou

    December 3, 2008 at 10:15 pm

  8. I only tried drafting once, I was unimpressed. It bogged down the game as hermit pointed out and once you got to the actual play it felt pre-programmed.

    frunk

    December 4, 2008 at 9:28 am

  9. I am pretty impressed with Wabash too. It really seems to fit well into the “meaty game in less than hour” slot and has quickly risen to become one of my favorite games. I can’t wait to get the Rio Grande version.

    doubtofbuddha

    December 4, 2008 at 3:38 pm

  10. I am pretty impressed with Wabash too. It really seems to fit well into the “meaty game in less than hour” slot and has quickly risen to become one of my favorite games. I can’t wait to get the Rio Grande version.

    doubtofbuddha

    December 4, 2008 at 3:38 pm


Comments are closed.

