The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Doomed! Race Master Solvers #5

You are the Doomed World, vs Ancient Race, Earths Lost Colony, and Epsilon Eridini (not a bad place to live).

Your opening hand:

  • Galactic Resort (3 Cost Novelty Windfall, Consume for VP+card)
  • Genetics Lab (+1 Trade Genes, produce on Gene Windfall)
  • Investment Credits (-1 to developments)
  • Space MERCENARIES (+1 Mil, Discard up to 2 cards for +1 mil each)
  • REBEL Miners (2 Def Rare production)
  • REBEL Warrior Race (3 Def Gene Windfall, +1 Military)

Written by taogaming

November 11, 2008 at 12:40 am

Posted in Race for the Galaxy

Tagged with

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s a lot of different combos here that will work. I’d keep:
    Galactic Resort
    Space Mercenaries
    Rebel Miners
    Rebel Warrior Race

    Action: This is a tough call. I’m split between Explore, Develop and, to a lesser extent, Settle. All have good points for them. Probably pick Develop, to get Space Mercs out and maximum flexibility on the Settle depending on the other actions on the turn.

    frunk

    November 11, 2008 at 9:26 am

  2. There’s a lot of different combos here that will work. I’d keep:
    Galactic Resort
    Space Mercenaries
    Rebel Miners
    Rebel Warrior Race

    Action: This is a tough call. I’m split between Explore, Develop and, to a lesser extent, Settle. All have good points for them. Probably pick Develop, to get Space Mercs out and maximum flexibility on the Settle depending on the other actions on the turn.

    frunk

    November 11, 2008 at 9:26 am

  3. There’s a lot of different combos here that will work. I’d keep:
    Galactic Resort
    Space Mercenaries
    Rebel Miners
    Rebel Warrior Race

    Action: This is a tough call. I’m split between Explore, Develop and, to a lesser extent, Settle. All have good points for them. Probably pick Develop, to get Space Mercs out and maximum flexibility on the Settle depending on the other actions on the turn.

    frunk

    November 11, 2008 at 9:26 am

  4. Warning, I haven’t yet played the expansion. In fact, I haven’t even gotten it yet (although it should show up tonight). But here is what I would do:

    Keep: Genetics Lab, Investment Credits, Space Mercs, Rebel Warrior

    Turn 1: Explore +1/+1
    Explore goal is to first look for a great world to settle with doomed world, and second to look for more military. With the other homeworlds in play and Space Mercs and Rebel Warrior Race, along with the +1 explore, this is not a bad hand to go military. Assuming I find garbage I hope my opponents have called at least a develop, in which case I play Space Mercs. If they’ve also called settle I play Rebel Warrior and save Genetics lab. Turn 2 is consume trade.

    Lou

    November 11, 2008 at 9:31 am

  5. I’m a noob, but I would keep:

    Rebel Miners
    Rebel Warrior Race
    Genetic Labs
    Space Mercenaries

    I’d explore +5 and hope to find a decent military starting world and then try to get Rebel Warrior race and Genetics lab down early to leech my opponent’s production so I can trade the green good for 5 cards as needed while I then pile on a military/rebel strategy as fast as possible.

    hermit

    November 11, 2008 at 12:56 pm

  6. The plan is either a) Galactic Resort and Rebel Miners for the beginnings of a decent engine or b) Space Mercenaries and Rebel Warrior Race for a good military start.

    For a, get rid of Genetics Lab and Rebel Warrior Race and choose Settle. Hopefully AR will trade, and you’ll start turn 2 with Galactic Resort down and 5 cards in hand. (Or Space Mercs down and 3 in hand if there was a turn one develop).

    For b, get rid of Investment Credits and Galactic Resort and choose Develop, ready to settle Rebel Warrior Race. You might have to ditch Rebel Miners and Genetics Lab to do it though.

    Now that I’ve typed it out, I think I’d be inclined to go for option a, which seems a lot more flexible.

    Kester Jarvis

    November 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  7. The plan is either a) Galactic Resort and Rebel Miners for the beginnings of a decent engine or b) Space Mercenaries and Rebel Warrior Race for a good military start.

    For a, get rid of Genetics Lab and Rebel Warrior Race and choose Settle. Hopefully AR will trade, and you’ll start turn 2 with Galactic Resort down and 5 cards in hand. (Or Space Mercs down and 3 in hand if there was a turn one develop).

    For b, get rid of Investment Credits and Galactic Resort and choose Develop, ready to settle Rebel Warrior Race. You might have to ditch Rebel Miners and Genetics Lab to do it though.

    Now that I’ve typed it out, I think I’d be inclined to go for option a, which seems a lot more flexible.

    Kester Jarvis

    November 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  8. The plan is either a) Galactic Resort and Rebel Miners for the beginnings of a decent engine or b) Space Mercenaries and Rebel Warrior Race for a good military start.

    For a, get rid of Genetics Lab and Rebel Warrior Race and choose Settle. Hopefully AR will trade, and you’ll start turn 2 with Galactic Resort down and 5 cards in hand. (Or Space Mercs down and 3 in hand if there was a turn one develop).

    For b, get rid of Investment Credits and Galactic Resort and choose Develop, ready to settle Rebel Warrior Race. You might have to ditch Rebel Miners and Genetics Lab to do it though.

    Now that I’ve typed it out, I think I’d be inclined to go for option a, which seems a lot more flexible.

    Kester Jarvis

    November 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  9. I’d toss investment credits and genetics lab, though I’m upset to toss genetics lab. Turn 1 settle. That doesn’t really leave me a card to develop if someone else calls it unless there is an explore. But I’ll trade in resort for one card, and probably another with the consume. Then I develop and hope to use those two cards to drop warrior race, with a free settle of miners then when I trade.

    Might work, but I’ve played almost no 4 player games.

    David Finberg

    November 12, 2008 at 10:03 am

  10. Interesting hand – a number of reasonable, good choices out there.

    I’m inclined to go down the same path as Lou – I’m not thrilled with Galactic Resort as my effective homeworld, so I’m fine with letting it go, but I want to see more options on turn 1. Close second is the same set of cards but choosing develop.

    Joe Huber

    November 12, 2008 at 11:20 am

  11. I’m inclined to move towards frunk on this one – I like having Galactic Resort available (it’s not ideal, but it’s not horrible, and moving on from Doomed World is appealing) and calling develop for Space Mercenaries is a very flexible play (if someone calls Settle, you could potentially settle any of the three cards in your hand, and you don’t need a settle desperately since you don’t like GR THAT much).

    So keeping Galactic Resort, Space Mercenaries, Rebel Miners and Rebel Warrior Race (I like having 2 rebels available too) and calling develop.

    Phil

    November 12, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  12. I’m inclined to move towards frunk on this one – I like having Galactic Resort available (it’s not ideal, but it’s not horrible, and moving on from Doomed World is appealing) and calling develop for Space Mercenaries is a very flexible play (if someone calls Settle, you could potentially settle any of the three cards in your hand, and you don’t need a settle desperately since you don’t like GR THAT much).

    So keeping Galactic Resort, Space Mercenaries, Rebel Miners and Rebel Warrior Race (I like having 2 rebels available too) and calling develop.

    Phil

    November 12, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  13. I’m inclined to move towards frunk on this one – I like having Galactic Resort available (it’s not ideal, but it’s not horrible, and moving on from Doomed World is appealing) and calling develop for Space Mercenaries is a very flexible play (if someone calls Settle, you could potentially settle any of the three cards in your hand, and you don’t need a settle desperately since you don’t like GR THAT much).

    So keeping Galactic Resort, Space Mercenaries, Rebel Miners and Rebel Warrior Race (I like having 2 rebels available too) and calling develop.

    Phil

    November 12, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  14. I’d toss the Resort and the Investment Credits and explore +1/+1. That’s not very flexible, but I want to use the Doomed World’s explore power for a turn or two. That should give me the cards to get out the other stuff. Selling the genes goods at +1 would be a great start. If I can build both rebel worlds, I have a great start to a produce/consume strategy; the touch of military will be useful, too, and might end up being the main direction if I see an appropriate 6 development in the first couple of turns.

    JeffG

    November 13, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  15. I essentially agree with Jeff.

    Four of your starting cards are a good enough combo that it is worth doing an explore +1/+1 just to ensure that you have a bit of cash to pay for them. Also, the off chance that you get something good to settle with the Doomed World makes it a doubly good action. While it is tempting to abandon the Doomed World immediately, I don’t see anything in this hand that particularly tempts me in that direction.

    So do an Explore +1/+1, looking for good stuff but settling for cash if neccessary. Assuming you just draw cash I would drop Space Mercenaries if just Develop is called, nothing if just Settle is called, and MAYBE Space Mercenaries and REBEL Warrior Race if Develop/Settle is called but probably Rebel Miners. If I do drop Warrior Race I probably discared Rebel Miners, so that I can combo the Warrior Race with Genetics Lab. This, of course, depends on what else I draw.

    doubtofbuddha

    November 13, 2008 at 5:31 pm


Comments are closed.

